North Ossetia - Alania: worthy heirs of Uastyrdzhi

Main facts:

  • Administrative center: Vladikavkaz

  • Federal District: Caucasus region

  • Language(s): Ossetian, Russian

  • Population: 701,000

  • Timezone: UTC+3

  • Main religions: Orthodoxy, traditional Ossetian beliefs

Top 10 attractions:

Sights map of North Osetia - Alania

Travel around North Ossetia - Alania Republic

North Ossetia - Alania attracts many tourists and travelers. It's because of a large number of bright sights in the republic, as well as the incredible hospitality of the Ossetian people and in a wide variety of their culinary masterpieces, known far beyond the borders of the republic. For a long time, Ossetians have inhabited their lands, and the history of this courageous people is estimated in thousands of years. In the vicinity of the village of Koban in the mountainous Ossetia, ancient archaeological finds were found that allowed dating of human presence in these places for thousands of years BC and hence the name of the first Caucasian culture - Koban. And also the ancestors of the Ossetians - the Alanian people - were the strongest people in the Caucasus, who kept this territory under control right up to the invasion of the Huns and the Great Migration of Nations. And even after that they did not lose the stronghold on the lands of Ossetia; Moreover, the Alans settled throughout Eastern Europe and Asia. Great Alanya was an ally of the Khazar Khaganate in the Middle Ages, and the army of the Alanian commander consisted of up to 30 thousand horse soldiers. It was truly a great power! The source of the prosperity of the Alans lies in geography: the Silk Road passed through the Alagir gorge, along which rare and therefore expensive goods from distant Asia reached the markets of Europe and the Black Sea region. Alans were well-enriched because of this, but it was the only passage through the Caucasus Mountains that led to their destruction. In the 12th century, a powerful army of Tatar-Mongols invaded from the south, overcame the Caucasus Mountains and managed to shake the borders of the Alanian kingdom, and then the great invasion of Tamerlane (Timur) in the 14th century completely destroyed this state. The Alans were simply crushed by the enemy, but fought till the last. The memory of this is in the archeological finds and military wit of the Alans, who managed to rebuild the hidden mountain fortresses in the gorges for their protection. Example - Dzivgis cave fortress in the village Dzivgis, which today is best preserved. Another example of the history of the Alan kingdom is the Alansky Uspensky Monastery, built in the 10th century by Armenian and Byzantine missionaries in Fiagdon gorge. This ancient monument, which was not reached by the troops of the Mongols and Timurids, is still one of the main holy Orthodox places in the North Caucasus.

After the military invasions, the Alan kingdom lay in ruins, but the mountain Alans were not subdued. Over time, they returned to attempts to revive agriculture and animal husbandry, but due to the small number of suitable land, they increasingly sought to land in the plains. This happened at the end of the 18th century, when the Alans were among the first in the Caucasus to join the Russian Empire. For Russia, their accession was strategically important, because they controlled the only transition through the mountains in the Central Caucasus. Thus, in 1784, the fortress of Vladikavkaz was founded to protect the passage. Most Ossetians moved to the flat areas allocated to them, but some remained in the mountain gorges, where to this day on the slopes you can see the remains of the mountain terraces used by the ancient Alans for their crops. By the way, from the moment of their accession to Russia, they began to be called "Ossetians" - in a word, close in Georgian to the word "axis" ("aces"), i.e. "Alans". In the 21st century, most Ossetians were in favor of returning to the people its historical name "Alans", and the name of the republic to "Alanya". Hence, the two-part name of the Republic of North Ossetia-Alania is carried out: the first word is traditionally called by the Russians, the second - by the Ossetians themselves (Alans).

In the 19th century, the whole Ossetia existed under the control of Russia, while in South (mountain) Ossetia, active attempts were made to implant the administration of Georgian governors, which, however, did not lead to success. However, since the formation of the Soviet Union, the territory of Ossetia was artificially divided into two parts: the north remained part of the RSFSR, and the south came under the control of Georgia. Subsequently, the northern part received autonomy, as did the southern part within the Georgian ASSR. During the Russian Great Patriotic War on the territory of North Ossetia, one of the toughest clashes between the Soviet and German forces took place. A huge number of Russians, Ossetians and other peoples were killed in military operations in the Ossetian gorges, but it was on the outskirts of Vladikavkaz that the German war machine was stopped and then reversed. For their feats of arms, the Ossetian people received recognition throughout the Soviet Union, and the city of Vladikavkaz received the status of a "city of military glory." During World War II, the territory of the deported Ingush people crossed over to North Ossetia, to which Ossetians were forcibly resettled from mountainous areas. However, in 1957 almost the entire territory was returned to the Ingush, and the Ossetians returned to their homeland. Only the territory of the Prigorodny district of North Ossetia (the neighborhood of Vladikavkaz) did not return, because of which in 2002 an armed clash broke out between the Ossetians and the Ingush, who demanded that the historically established lands should be returned to them. As a result of conflict more than 600 people died, the entire Ingush population of Ossetia was forced to move to Ingushetia, and relations between the neighboring republics were irretrievably damaged. To this day, extremely cold relations are observed between the republics, which are not expected to warm in the near future. Consider this if you plan to visit these republics - there is no transport connection between them, and even local taxi drivers will not take you.

Want to see the best sights of North Osetia? Book our author tour!

South Ossetia, which after the collapse of the USSR wanted to become an independent state because of a wave of nationalism in Georgia, was attacked by the Georgian military and fought with them for three years. The region won its partial independence, but in the 2008 year Georgian troops re-entered the republic. As a result, Russia was forced to help the Ossetian people with its troops, and since then they have been guarding the borders of South Ossetia, which does not want to be part of Georgia, although the latter does not seek to give the republic independence.

If you are going to see the whole territory of the Ossetian people, you should know that North Ossetia is part of Russia, and South Ossetia, although there are many Russian-speaking people, is nominally part of Georgia. Nevertheless, the shortest and one of the most beautiful automobile routes of the Caucasus - from Vladikavkaz to Tbilisi - passes through the Georgian Military Road connecting two republics. To visit Alagir and Darial gorge is a must, because it is one of the most majestic mountains in the North Caucasus. Also in North Ossetia, I highly recommend visiting the Kurtatin gorge, where there are evidence of the history and monuments of the ancient architecture of the Alans, as well as the Koban gorge, where the majestic necropolis "City of the Dead" in Dargavs situated. This building has a long history, and the harsh spirit of the people who lived in such a distance from civilization among the desert land can be felt today. The most severe landscapes and the most impressive monument of the history of ancient Alans today are, of course, the necropolis in Dargavs, which is definitely worth a visit.

And, of course, do not forget to visit the capital of the republic - the city of Vladikavkaz. Created as a military fortress, today Vladikavkaz is a center of culture and education in the republic, attracting not only by its beautiful embankment, the romantic Prospect of Peace and the National Museum of the Republic of Alanya, but also by the breathtaking panorama of the Caucasus Mountains, which can be seen from the symbolic "Chugunny" bridge. Vladikavkaz is a great place to learn more about the Ossetian people. In general, my visit to North Ossetia left a feeling of unshakable spirit, people's resilience in the face of difficulties and the majestic beauty of nature, for which I want to come back here again and again.

Welcome to North Ossetia-Alania - the republic of hospitable, proud and worthy heirs of the great Alans!

For more information about the country and the posted content, please contact me in person through contacts form. Thank you!

Want to go on an unforgettable private tour
in North Osetia - Alania?

Write to us and we will tell you about all the details of the trip:

Северная Осетия - Алания: достойные наследники Уастырджи

Основные факты:

  • Административный центр: Владикавказ

  • Федеральный округ: Северо-Кавказский

  • Язык(и): осетинский, русский

  • Население: 701,000

  • Часовой пояс: UTC+3

  • Основные религии: православие, традиционные верования осетинов

Топ 10 интересных мест:

Карта достопримечательностей Северной Осетии - Алании

Путешествие по Республике Северная Осетия - Алания

Северная Осетия - Алания привлекает множество туристов и путешественников. И дело тут не только в том, что в республике большое количество ярких достопримечательностей, но и в невероятном гостеприимстве осетинского народа, а также в большом разнообразии кулинарных шедевров, известных далеко за пределами республики. Издавна осетины населяют свои земли, а история этого мужественного народа исчисляется тысячелетиями. В окрестностях поселения Кобан в горной Осетии были найдены древнейшие археологические находки, позволившие датировать присутствие человека в этих местах тысячелетиями до нашей эры. Отсюда и название первой кавказской культуры - кобанская. А ещё предки осетинов - аланский народ - был сильнейшим народом на Кавказе, который держал эту территорию под контролем вплоть до нашествия гуннов и Великого переселения народов. И даже после этого он не потерял своего оплота на землях Осетии; более того, аланы расселились по всей Восточной Европе и Азии. Великая Алания была союзником Хазарского каганата в Средние века, а войско аланского военачальника насчитывало до 30 тысяч конных воинов. Это была воистину великая держава! Источник процветания аланов кроется в географии: через Алагирское ущелье проходил Великий Шёлковый путь, по которому редкие и потому дорогие товары из далёкой Азии попадали на рынки Европы и Причерноморья. Аланы неплохо обогатились благодаря этому, но именно единственный проход через Кавказские горы привёл к их уничтожению. В 12 веке могучее войско татаро-монголов вторглось с юга, преодолело Кавказские горы и сумело поколебать границы Аланского царства, а затем великое нашествие Тамерлана (Тимура) в 14 веке окончательно разрушило это государство. Аланцы просто были раздавлены численностью противника, однако боролись до последнего. Память тому - в археологических находках и воинской смекалке аланов, сумевших отстроить скрытые горные крепости в ущельях для их защиты. Пример - Дзивгисская крепость в селе Дзивгис, которая сегодня лучше всего сохранилась. Ещё одним примером истории Аланского царства является Аланский Успенский монастырь, отстроенный ещё в 10 веке армянскими и византийскими миссионерами в Фиагдонском ущелье. Этот древний памятник, до которого не добрались войска монголов и тимуридов, до сих пор является одним из главных святых православных мест на Северном Кавказе.

После военных нашествий Аланское царство лежало в руинах, но горные аланы не были покорены. Со временем они вернулись к попыткам возрождения сельского хозяйства и животноводства, но из-за малочисленности пригодных земель они все чаще стремились в равнинные земли. Это и произошло в конце 18 века, когда аланы одними из первых на Кавказе присоединились к Российской Империи. Для России их присоединение было стратегически важным, ведь они контролировали единственный на Центральном Кавказе переход через горы. Так, в 1784 году была основана крепость Владикавказ для защиты прохода. Большинство осетин переселилось на выделенные им равнинные территории, но некоторая часть осталась в горных ущельях, где и по сей день на склонах можно увидеть остовы горных террас, использовавшихся древними аланами для своих посевов. Кстати, с момента присоединения к России их стали называть "осетины" - словом, близким в грузинском языке к слову "оси" ("асы"), т.е. "аланы". А в начале 21 века большинство осетин высказалось за возвращение народу исторического названия "аланы", а название республики - переименовать в "Аланию". Отсюда и ведётся двухчастное название республики Северная Осетия - Алания: первым словом её традиционно именуют русские, вторым - сами осетины (аланы).

В 19 веке вся Осетия существовала под контролем России, при этом в Южной (горной) Осетии предпринимались активные попытки насадить управление грузинских наместников, которые, однако, не привели к успеху. С момента образования Советского Союза территория Осетии была искусственно разделена на две части: северная осталась в составе РСФСР, а южная перешла под управление Грузии. Впоследствии северная часть получила автономию, как и южная часть в составе Грузинской АССР. Во время Великой Отечественной войны на территории Северной Осетии происходили одни из самых жестких столкновений между советскими и немецкими войсками. Огромное количество русских, осетин и других народов полегло в военных действиях в осетинских ущельях, но именно на подступах к Владикавказу немецкая машина была остановлена, а затем обращена вспять. За свои ратные подвиги осетинский народ получил признание по всему Советскому Союзу, а город Владикавказ - статус "города воинской славы". Во время Великой Отечественной войны к Северной Осетии перешла территория депортированного ингушского народа, на которую насильно переселяли осетин из горных районов. Однако в 1957 году почти вся территория была возвращена ингушам, а осетины вернулись к себе на родину. Не вернулась только территория Пригородного района Северной Осетии (района окрестностей Владикавказа), из-за чего в 2002 году вспыхнуло вооруженное столкновение между осетинами и ингушами, требовавшими вернуть себе исторически положенные земли. В результате этого конфликта погибло более 600 человек, все ингушское население Осетии вынуждено переселиться в Ингушетию, а отношения между соседними республиками были безвозвратно испорчены. И по сей день между республиками наблюдаются крайне холодные отношения, потепления которых в ближайшем будущем не ожидается. Учтите это, если планируете посетить эти республики - транспортного сообщения между ними нет, и даже местные таксисты вас скорее всего не отвезут.

Хотите увидеть лучшие места Северной Осетии? Закажите авторский тур!

А Южная Осетия, которая после распада СССР захотела стать независимым государством из-за волны национализма в Грузии, подверглась нападению грузинских военных и сражалась с ними в течение трех лет. Она завоевала свою частичную независимость, но в 2008 году грузинские войска вновь вошли в республику. В результате Россия была вынуждена помочь осетинскому народу своими войсками, и с той поры они стерегут границы Южной Осетии, которая не желает быть в составе Грузии, хотя последняя не стремится дать республике независимость.

Если соберетесь увидеть всю территорию осетинского народа - знайте, что Северная Осетия входит в состав России, а Южная Осетия, хотя там много русскоязычных, номинально входит в состав Грузии. Тем не менее, именно через Военно-Грузинскую дорогу, соединяющую эти две республики, проходит самый короткий и один из самых красивых автомобильных маршрутов Кавказа - из Владикавказа в Тбилиси. Посетить Алагирское и Дарьяльское ущелья стоит обязательно, ведь рядом с ними расположены одни из самых величественных гор на Северном Кавказе. Также в Северной Осетии я очень советую посетить Куртатинское ущелье, где сохранились свидетельства истории и памятники древней архитектуры аланов, а также Кобанское ущелье, где на холме возвышается величественный некрополь "город мёртвых" в Даргавсе. Это сооружение имеет многовековую историю, а суровых дух людей, живших в такой дали от цивилизации среди пустынной земли, можно ощутить и сегодня. Самые суровые пейзажи и самый впечатляющий памятник истории древних алан сегодня - это, безусловно, некрополь, куда точно стоит добраться.

И, конечно, не забудьте посетить столицу республики - город Владикавказ. Созданный как военная крепость, сегодня Владикавказ является центром культуры и образования в республике, привлекающим не только своей красивой набережной, романтичным проспектом Мира и национальным музеем республики, но и захватывающей дух панорамой Кавказских гор, которую можно наблюдать с символичного Чугунного моста или площади генерала Плиева. Владикавказ - прекрасное место для того, чтобы узнать больше о великом осетинском народе. В целом же, посещение Северной Осетии обязательно оставит у вас ощущение непоколебимого духа, стойкости народа перед лицом трудностей и величественной красоты природы, за которыми хочется возвращаться сюда снова и снова.

Добро пожаловать в Северную Осетию-Аланию - республику гостеприимных, гордых и достойных предков великого аланского народа!

За более подробной информацией по поводу страны и размещенного контента просьба обращаться лично через контакты. Спасибо!

Хотите увидеть самые красивые и интересные места

Северной Осетии - Алании? 

Напишите нам свои пожелания, и мы организуем для вас наилучший маршрут!