Belarus: history of the people between Russia and Europe

by.png

Main facts:

  • Caputal city: Minsk

  • Language(s): Belarusian, Russian

  • Currency: Belarusian Ruble, Br

  • Population: 9,492,000

  • Timezone: UTC+3

  • Main religion: Orthodoxy (68%)

  • Standard of living (subjectively): medium

Top 10 interesting places and activities:

Approximate costs (person/day):

~€ 15-30

~€ 1-3

~€ 7-10

~€ 4-12

Sights map of Belarus

Travel around Belarus

Belarus country meets you with Slavic hospitality, Soviet heritage and pride of the military past. In the modern territorial structure, the state has existed since 1919, when the Belorusian SSR was formed during the division of the territories of Polish–Lithuanian Commonwealth between Lithuania, Poland and the Russian Empire. In fact, Belarus owes its appearance and development to the Soviet Union, which, thanks to the accession of the territories of Western Belarus, formed a new socialist republic and gave impetus to the development of these territories. The official language is Belarusian, but at the same time, the entire population speaks excellent Russian, which is also used in official documentation. In general, it is very interesting to look at a bilingual country, where the national language is so little common compared to the current "foreign". The main part of communication and trade signs is in Russian, but signs on houses are in Belarusian ... verbally Russian-speaking citizens understand everything, but in writing - not always.

Since Belarus throughout its history, especially in the last century, has been a territory of constant military conflicts, very few historical sites have survived here. Agrarian complexes today occupy most of the country, there are several nature reserves and national parks (the most famous is Bialowieza Forest, on the border with Poland). But among the rare beautiful places in the republic a special place is occupied by fortresses and castles, reminiscent of the military past of these places. Perhaps the most famous is the Brest Fortress, located near the town of Brest on the border with Poland. It was here that the Great Patriotic War of the Soviet Union with Nazi Germany began, it was here that brave Soviet soldiers heroically held up their defenses, and it was here that an incredible feat of arms was accomplished. Today the Brest Fortress is a Memorial where everything reminds of the terrible events of that time. The Brest Fortress deserves a special long visit, for the sake of the beautiful memorials and museums in memory of the great feat of Soviet soldiers who gave their lives to save thousands of others ...

Belarus is a hospitable land that has long stood on the rails of capitalism, but where people are still trying to live by the precepts of the Soviet Union. Good human qualities: kindness, sincerity, valor; cleanliness on the streets, restored buildings, excellent roads and excellent public transport speaks of a good level of public policy. Despite a long common history with Russia, the republic seeks to preserve the little that remains of its long-standing national heritage - partly Polish, partly Lithuanian, partly its own. For example, many Orthodox churches in Minsk were built during the times of Polish rule, when local residents professed Catholicism, which is very different from the Russian Orthodox canons of architecture. Another example is the ancient historical castles, built by the Lithuanian princes Radzivills and included in the UNESCO World Heritage Site today. There are Mir and Nesvizh castles. Although it is officially considered that both castles were built as county estates, looking at their massive defense complexes, it is difficult to imagine the absence of plans for the participation of castles in battles. The castles are located at a distance of 30 km from each other, but their architectural difference speaks not only about different owners, but also about different construction milestones.

Want to see the best sights of Belarus? Book our author tour!

The Mir Castle, built at the beginning of the 16th century, is a sample of the unique Belarusian Gothic, at the same time resembling a real defensive fortress and a pathetic palace. It is hard to believe, but most of their history Belarusians were Catholics, because they were ruled by Poles and Lithuanians. This explains the small number of Orthodox buildings (the majority of modern Orthodox parishes are located in former churches), as well as many Gothic buildings in the preserved historical buildings. This is a military fortification that participated in all wars in the territory of Belarus. Its five towers around the perimeter with a height of 25-27 meters served defensive purposes; inside it was located the garrison of the personal army of the Radzivills princes, and the dug system of underground passages allowed carrying out fraudulent maneuvers during the siege. In the 16-17 centuries, it was one of the most developed military fortresses in Central Europe. The Nesvizh Castle is located nearby, which was built at the end of the 16th century and is more like a palace in its structure than the first one. Although fortifications were also created here — the rampart, deep moat, defensive and high brick walls — this castle really was the estate of the rulers of these places. It housed the princely chambers, rooms for receiving guests, the residence of the archbishop and even the palace gardens. The entrance to the castle is carried out on a suspension bridge over a moat, which makes it almost impregnable during a medieval attack. Of course, with the development of military equipment, the castle increasingly lost its military purpose, eventually turning into a princely palace. But the army past left an indelible imprint on its appearance and interior decoration. You can visit both castles in one day, but for doing this you need to either have a car, or take a tour, or find a public transport.

In addition to these castles, there are still many historical sites worth visiting. So, this is the beautiful Kosava Castle in the village of Kossovo, ancient castles in Lida and Kreva, as well as ancient Catholic monasteries in almost all major cities of Belarus.

It is impossible to go to Belarus and not to visit Minsk - the largest and most beautiful city of the republic, which is literally the living embodiment of the power and wealth of the Soviet Union! It was even assigned the epithet "The City of the Sun" - in honor of the numerous "sunrises" and "sunsets" that it is experienced in the history. In the period between the World Wars, Minsk was a city of great importance for Soviet Union, and therefore it developed and built up greatly. Here you can see a lot of monuments of constructivism, which was very common in the times of the early and middle USSR. The most monumental is considered to be the Palace of the Republic on Lenin Square - the newly formed center of the city, where all the main administrative buildings are located. The only exception is the Presidential Administration of Belarus, located further along Independence Avenue. For the most part, the city was built during the Soviet era, and therefore the most beautiful buildings here repeat the architecture of the city center of Moscow - ancient columns, monumental buildings with tall arches, theaters and museums in the form of palaces, as well as adorable "Gate of Minsk" right outside the railway station. At night, the city is illuminated with golden light - an incredible sight, worthy of a long and solemn contemplation.

 

Minsk is a very beautiful city. Here are wide avenues, clean sidewalks, tall buildings in the Soviet monumental style, beautiful theaters and Orthodox churches (in former Catholic churches). The famous Trinity Suburb, the historical district in the center of Minsk was left unchanged as a living monument of the ancient heritage. Around the district there are a lot of modern buildings: huge residential neighborhoods, like which there are not even in Moscow! More and more people are moving to Minsk from the outside, and therefore the city is very actively built up with huge high-rise residential complexes. The city center for the most part remained for 10-15 storey buildings, but closer to the outskirts you can see the spiers of 30-40 storey buildings.

Minsk is the city of military glory, a hero-city. Here a lot of things remind of the great victory of Soviet soldiers over the Nazi invaders. Everywhere you can see the victory steles, large inscriptions on the buildings “Victory” and “Glory”, there are several memorials and big Museum of History of the Great Patriotic War of 1941-1945. Perhaps the most famous monument is the stela of Victory on Independence Square, where the Eternal Flame burns and the inscription “The feat of the people is immortal” shines on the buildings behind.

Today Minsk is a very beautiful and prosperous city, where you can find many excellent places for recreation and entertainment! But do not stop at the capital of the republic - be sure to go to the bright and interesting surroundings that will surprise even the most skeptical tourist. Just visit the museums of folk crafts and peasant architecture of Belarusians in the villages of Strochitsy and Dudutki! And what a soulful forests and lakes are located outside the cities... Undoubtedly, Belarus is a cozy and pleasant place where you can spend a weekend or a whole month, and every day will be special.

For more information about the country and the posted content, please contact me in person through contacts form. Thank you!

Беларусь: история народа между Россией и Европой

by.png

Основные факты:

  • Столица: Минск

  • Язык(и): белорусский, русский

  • Валюта: белорусский рубль, Br

  • Население: 9,492,000

  • Часовой пояс: UTC+3

  • Основная религия: православие (68%)

  • Уровень жизни (субъективно): средний

Топ 10 интересных мест и занятий:

Примерные расходы (чел./день):

~1000-2500 руб

~20-200 руб

~200-500 руб

~200-600 руб

Карта достопримечательностей Беларуси

Путешествие по Беларуси

Республика Беларусь встречает славянским гостеприимством, советским наследием и гордостью за военное прошлое. В современном территориальном устройстве государство существует с 1919 года, когда была образована БССР во время очередного разделения территорий распавшейся Речи Посполитой между Литвой, Польшей и Российской Империей. Фактически, Беларусь обязана своим появлением и развитием Советскому Союзу, который благодаря присоединению территорий Западной Белоруссии образовал новую социалистическую республику и дал толчок развитию этих территорий. Официальным языком здесь является белорусский, но в то же время все население прекрасно говорит на русском, который используется и в официальной документации. Очень интересно изучать двуязычную страну, где национальный язык настолько мало распространен по сравнению с текущим "иностранным". Основная часть общения и торговых вывесок - на русском, а вот указатели и таблички на домах - на белорусском... устно русскоязычным гражданам все понятно, а вот письменно - не всегда.

Поскольку Беларусь на протяжении своей истории, в особенности за последний век, была территорией постоянных военных конфликтов, здесь сохранилось очень мало исторических достопримечательностей. Большую часть страны сегодня занимают аграрные комплексы, есть несколько заповедников и национальных парков (самый известный — Беловежская Пуща, на границе с Польшей). Но среди редких красивых мест в республике особое место занимают крепости и замки, напоминающие о военном прошлом этих мест. Наиболее известная крепость — Брестская, расположенная рядом с городом Брест на самой границе с Польшей. Именно здесь началась Великая Отечественная Война Советского Союза с нацистской Германией, именно здесь бравые советские солдаты героически удерживали оборону, именно здесь был совершен невероятный ратный подвиг. Сегодня Брестская крепость — это мемориал памяти, в котором все напоминает об ужасных событиях того времени. Брестская крепость достойна особого долгого посещения, ради красивейших мемориалов и музеев памяти о великом подвиге советских солдат, отдавших свои жизни для спасения тысяч других…

Беларусь - это гостеприимный край, который давно встал на рельсы капитализма, но где люди до сих пор пытаются жить заветами Советского Союза. Хорошие человеческие качества: доброта, искренность, доблесть; чистота на улицах, отреставрированные здания, отличные дороги и прекрасный общественный транспорт говорят о хорошем уровне государственной политике, которая даёт свои плоды. Несмотря долгую общую историю с Россией, республика стремится сохранить то немногое, что осталось от её давнего национального наследия - отчасти польского, отчасти литовского, отчасти собственного. К примеру, многие православные храмы в Минске выстроены ещё во времена польского владычества, когда местные жители исповедовали католицизм, что сильно отличается от русских православных канонов зодчества. Другим примером могут стать древние исторические замки, выстроенные литовскими князьями Радзивиллами и входящие сегодня во Всемирное наследие ЮНЕСКО. Речь идёт о Мирском и Несвижском замках. Хотя официально считается, что оба замка были воздвигнуты как уездные поместья, глядя на их массивные оборонные комплексы, сложно представить себе отсутствие планов по участию замков в военных действиях. Замки расположены на расстоянии 30 км друг от друга, но их архитектурное различие говорит не просто о разных владельцах, но и о разных вехах строительства.

Хотите увидеть лучшие места Беларуси? Закажите индивидуальный авторский тур!

Выстроенный в начале 16 века Мирский замок — образец уникальной белорусской готики, напоминающий одновременно настоящую оборонительную крепость и пафосный дворец. Сложно поверить, но большую часть своей истории белорусы были католиками, поскольку находились под властью поляков и литовцев. Этим объясняется малое число православных построек (большинство современных православных приходов расположены в бывших костелах), а также множество готики в сохранившихся исторических постройках. Это военное укрепление, участвовавшее во всех войнах на территории Беларуси. Его пять башен по периметру высотой в 25-27 метров служили оборонительным целям, внутри размещался гарнизон личной армии князей Радзивиллов, а вырытая система подземных ходов позволяла проводить обманные маневры при осаде. В 16-17 веках это было одно из наиболее развитых военных сооружений в Центральной Европе. Неподалеку от него расположен Несвижский замок, который был построен в конце 16 века и по своему устройству больше напоминает дворец, чем первый. Хотя и здесь созданы фортификационные сооружения — крепостной вал, глубокий ров, оборонительные валы и высокие кирпичные стены — этот замок действительно был имением правителей этих мест. Здесь располагались княжеские покои, залы для приёма гостей, резиденция архиепископа и даже дворцовые сады. Вход в замок осуществляется по подвесному мосту надо рвом, что делает его практически неприступным во время средневекового нападения. Конечно, с развитием военной техники замок все больше утрачивал своё военное назначение, в итоге превратившись в княжеский дворец. Но армейское прошлое оставило неизгладимый отпечаток на его внешнем виде и внутреннем убранстве. Посетить оба замка можно за один день, но для этого надо либо иметь машину, либо брать экскурсию, либо подключить смекалку в общественном транспорте.

Помимо этих замков, в стране есть ещё много исторических мест, достойных посещения. Так, это красивейшая усадьба-дворец Пусловских в деревне Коссово, древние замки в Лиде и Крево, а также старинные католические монастыри практически во всех крупных городах Беларуси.

Невозможно побывать в Беларуси и не посетить Минск - самый крупный и красивый город республики, который являет собой живое воплощение мощи и богатства Советского Союза! В период между мировыми войнами Минск был городом союзного значения, а потому сильно развивался и застраивался. Ему даже был приписан эпитет "город Солнца" - в честь многочисленных "восходов" и "закатов", которые он переживал. Здесь можно увидеть множество памятников конструктивизма, сильно распространенного во времена раннего и среднего СССР. Самым монументальным по праву считается дворец Республики на площади Ленина - новообразованном центре города, где находятся все главные административные здания. Единственное исключение - здание Администрации Президента Беларуси, находящийся далее по проспекту Независимости. По большей части город строился во времена Советского Союза, а потому самые красивые здания здесь повторяют архитектуру центра Москвы — античные колонны, монументальные строения с высоченными арками, театры и музеи в форме дворцов, шикарные ворота прямо по выходу из здания ж/д вокзала. Ночью город подсвечивается золотым светом — невероятное зрелище, достойное долгого и торжественного созерцания.

 

Минск очень красивый город. Здесь широкие проспекты, чистые тротуары, высокие здания в советском монументальном стиле, прекрасные театры и церкви (в бывших костелах). Знаменитое Троицкое предместье, исторический район в центре Минска, был оставлен в неизменном виде как живой памятник древнего наследия. А вокруг него ширится современная застройка: огромные жилые кварталы, подобных которым нет даже в Москве! В Минск переезжают все больше людей из регионов страны, а потому он очень активно застраивается огромными многоэтажными комплексами. Центр города по большей части остался за 10-15 этажными зданиями, а вот ближе к окраинам высятся шпили 30-40 этажных строений.

Минск — город воинской славы, город-герой. Здесь очень многое напоминает о великой победе советских солдат над немецко-фашистскими захватчиками. Повсюду можно увидеть победные стелы, крупные надписи на зданиях «Победа» и «Слава», есть несколько мемориалов и большой музей Великой Отечественной Войны 1941-1945 гг. Пожалуй, самый известный монумент — это стела Победы на площади Независимости, где горит вечный огонь и на зданиях позади сияет надпись «Подвиг народа бессмертен».

Сегодня Минск представляет собой очень красивый и благополучный город, где можно обнаружить множество отличных мест для отдыха и развлечений! Но не останавливайтесь на столице республики - обязательно отправляйтесь в яркие и интересны