Kaliningrad region: Russian enclave with German roots

Калининград обл.png

Main facts:

  • Administrative center: Kaliningrad

  • Federal District: Northwestern

  • Language(s): Russian

  • Population: 994,000

  • Timezone: UTC+2

  • Main religion: Orthodoxy

Top 10 attractions:

Sights map of Kaliningrad region

Travel around Kaliningrad region

Kaliningrad region is a relatively new territory for Russia. At the end of World War II, the former German fortress town of Königsberg, which was annexed to the USSR, was renamed to Kaliningrad, and the northern part of the territory of the former East Prussia fell to the Soviet Union and was called the Kaliningrad region. Up until 1945, this entire territory was part of the German lands on the Baltic, which they, in turn, conquered from the Prussian people in the 12th century.

Since the 5th century AD, the tribes of Prussians, who professed paganism, lived in the territory of the modern Kaliningrad region. However, in the 12th century knight-crusaders invaded the territory of the Prussians under the auspices of Poland and the Teutonic Order, whose task was to force the Christianization of the population. Since they were superior to the local population both in numbers, armament and skill, the entire territory of the Prussians was seized and converted to Catholicism for 50-70 years. Retaining power and control over these territories, the Teutonic Order managed to assimilate the local population, as a result, almost all of it spoke German and lost national traditions. To protect its territories from its invader neighbors - Poland and Lithuania - the Teutonic Order built many military fortresses and ancient settlements, the ruins of which can still be seen around the city of Kaliningrad. Yes, and in the city itself a whole system of defensive forts has survived, which was maintained by the Germans until the end of World War II.

The border of the lands of the Teutonic Order with the Lithuanians passed along the bank of the Neman river, and communication between the states was carried out through the border town of Tilsit. At the beginning of the 20th century, the most beautiful Bridge of Queen Louise was raised in it. Next to it there are several defense fortresses and castles, now lying in ruins, including the Tilsit castle. The city of Tilsit (now Sovetsk) played a great importance for this territory, and therefore more than once was subjected to military conflicts and destruction. Today it is a quiet and peaceful place where the border between Russia and Lithuania lies, and the Queen Louise Bridge continues to be one of the most beautiful places in the city.

Königsberg (now Kaliningrad) was one of the main strongholds of the Teutonic Order, and later Prussia, in these lands. It was a city-fortress, which was repeatedly strengthened and rebuilt in favor of the military "fashion". Thus, the largest reconstruction of the city occurred after the Napoleonic wars, when, thanks to the French Contribution, the German government received a large amount of money, which it decided to spend on building a huge defensive system around Koenigsberg, the most powerful and modern in those times. So were founded 12 forts of Koenigsberg and 3 more additional fortresses, called "Königsberg fortifications". An interesting fact: several million German marks were spent on the construction of all fortifications, but as a result, NO ONE FORT could not withstand a long siege or did not accept the battle at all. The thing is that as a result, today most of the forts are in a deplorable state, and this is not due to the Soviet bombings in 1943-1944, but because of time and lack of care. Today, most of the forts are destroyed or mothballed, they are gradually being destroyed. Only in two there are works on reconstruction, including the one by the expense of philanthropists and with the help of volunteers (fort No.11 Dönhoff). They have an excellent excursions about the place for all the tourists, which I highly recommend to visit.

Want to see the best sights of the Kaliningrad region? Book our author tour!

The city-fortress Königsberg was renamed Kaliningrad from the time it was incorporated into the Soviet Union, but most of the buildings here still have German roots. Although the city was badly damaged during the war (for example, part of the city on the island of Kant was completely destroyed), today throughout the center here and there you can find the skeletons of ancient fortresses and fortifications. For example, the eight gates of the fortress still adorn the streets, massive brick towers and bastions are raising into city parks and even used for university buildings, and in one of the bastions is located the famous Amber Museum - the main museum of this mineral in the world. All is because of the best masters in jewelry from amber, the main part of which is mined nearby, on the Baltic coast, worked precisely in Königsberg-Kaliningrad.

Калининград.png

The city has preserved entire areas built by German architects before the war (for example, Amalienau). However, the city was largely rebuilt after the war. Thus, the Königsberg Cathedral on Kant Island was rebuilt. It is there where the tomb of the famous philosopher Immanuel Kant, who was born and worked in Koenigsberg, is also located. Also nearby is the restored "Fish Village" district in the German-style half-timbered houses. Today, this is more of a chip to attract tourists than a tribute to the historical heritage of the city. The Museum of the World Ocean, which represents one of the best collections of Russian and foreign seafarers and ocean explorers, was also built along the bank of river Pregolya. One of its branches is located in Svetlogorsk and is dedicated to the aboriginal tribes of Oceania - I strongly advise you to look there. Also in the center of Kaliningrad, on the embankment, is a museum of naval and military equipment, which is extremely interesting to see with your own eyes, and also the main farce of the city - House of Soviets. The history of this building is as comical as sad.

After the destruction of Königsberg Castle during the war, the Soviet authorities decided to build a building for the city and regional governments in its place. In 1970, construction began, but due to problems with soil instability, the project had to be changed and edited more than once. As a result, by 1985, when 95% of the building was ready, the construction was completely stopped due to lack of money for the final stage. In 1995, the city administration decided to attract investors to complete the construction of the building, eventually transferring it from state property to private ownership. The established joint-stock company went bankrupt a few years later and sold its “asset-long-term construction project” to the “Protostroy” company. But the name of the company did not play into its hands, and it had problems with the city administration regarding the legality of the purchase. And the House of Soviets, meanwhile, became a local legend: the guided tours for fans of urban extreme is started there. In 2010, the transaction was declared invalid, as a result, the building returned to the city administration. And today it is absolutely incomprehensible what will happen next. Meanwhile, this is the tallest building in the city in its very center, which is impossible not to notice. In addition, it has become even the "unofficial symbol of the city," and the local population does not allow it to be demolished. I can only say "to be continued...".

Kaliningrad region is not only about ancient fortifications and a fortress, but also about the famous resorts of the Baltic Sea. Well-planned during the times of the German burghers, the Baltic Sea coast has not undergone significant changes and today it receives tourists (mostly Russian) on its beaches. In my opinion, in Riga or Gdansk, the sea is cleaner, the water is warmer, and the infrastructure is more comfortable and interesting, but if you cannot go there, then the beaches of Svetlogorsk or Zelenogradsk are an excellent way out. In these resort towns there is everything for a relaxing sea holiday: quiet streets with shady avenues, well-groomed promenades and many beautiful German-style buildings. The water in the sea is cool, but in summer it is not hot - about +25 degrees. And yet, if you get bored with city life and want a natural flavor, then not far away is one of the best and most beautiful national reserves in Europe - Curonian Spit. This spit stretched for 98 km is included in the UNESCO World Heritage List, and it is absolutely deserved. Here is the purest air and unique flora and fauna. Here you can see the real sand dunes and the "dancing" forest, stroll along the endless deserted white sand beaches, and even meet wild animals - foxes, hares, wild boars, elks, etc. Here is a place for those who seek harmony and solitude with nature. Moreover, still not far from Kaliningrad is located the largest base of the Baltic Navy of Russia. If you want to visit the most western point of Russia ("Northern pier"), see the ancient fortresses, Russian naval military equipment and swim on the white beaches - you should visit the city of Baltiysk.

 

In general, in my opinion, the Kaliningrad region is noteworthy for several reasons: here are the most deserted and clean beaches of the Baltic Sea (on the Curonian Spit), many historical monuments and ancient artifacts (forts and fortresses), as well as several unique museums (the World Ocean Museum, Amber Museum, etc.). And, of course, from here you can go to explore the neighboring countries of Europe: Lithuania, Poland or Belarus. Come to the Kaliningrad region - Russian enclave with German roots!

For more information about the country and the posted content, please contact me in person through contacts form. Thank you!

Want to go on an unforgettable private tour
in the Kaliningrad region?

Write to us and we will tell you about all the details of the trip:

Калининградская область: Россия с немецкими корнями

Калининград обл.png

Основные факты:

  • Административный центр: Калининград

  • Федеральный округ: Северо-Западный

  • Язык(и): русский

  • Население: 994,000

  • Часовой пояс: UTC+2

  • Основная религия: православие

Топ 10 интересных мест:

Карта достопримечательностей Калининградской области

Путешествие по Калининградской области

Калининградская область - относительно новая территория для России. Присоединенный к СССР по окончании Второй мировой войны бывший немецкий город-крепость Кенигсберг был переименован в Калининград, а северная часть территории бывшей Восточной Пруссии отошла к Советскому Союзу и названа Калининградской областью. Вплоть до 1945 года, вся эта территория входила в состав немецких земель на Балтике, которые они, в свою очередь, отвоевали у прусского народа в 12 веке.

Начиная с 5 века нашей эры на территории современной Калининградской области проживали племена пруссов, которые исповедовали язычество. Однако в 12 веке на территорию пруссов вторгаются рыцари-крестоносцы под покровительством Польши и Тевтонского ордена, задачей которых была насильная христианизация населения. Поскольку они превосходили местное население и в численности, и в вооружении и мастерстве, вся территория пруссов была захвачена и обращена в католичество в течение 50-70 лет. Сохраняя за собой власть и контроль над этими территориями, Тевтонский орден сумел ассимилировать местное население, в итоге почти всё оно заговорило на немецком и потеряло национальные традиции. Для защиты своих территорий от соседей-захватчиков - Польши и Литвы - Тевтонский орден строил множество военных крепостей и городищ, руины которых до сих пор можно наблюдать в окрестностях города Калининград. Да и в самом городе до сих пор сохранилась целая система оборонительных сооружений, которая поддерживалась немцами вплоть до конца Второй мировой войны.

Граница земель Тевтонского ордена с литовцами проходила по берегу реки Неман, а сообщение между государствами велось через пограничный город Тильзит. В начале 20 века в нём был возведен красивейший мост королевы Луизы. По соседству с ним расположено несколько оборонных крепостей и замков, ныне лежащих в руинах, в том числе и Тильзитский замок. Город Тильзит (ныне Советск) играл огромное значение для этой территории, а потому не раз подвергался военным конфликтам и разрушениям. Сегодня это тихое и спокойное место, где проходит граница между Россией и Литвой, а мост королевы Луизы продолжает оставаться одним из красивейших мест в городе.

Кенигсберг (ныне Калининград) был одним из главных оплотов Тевтонского ордена, а позднее Пруссии, в этих землях. Он был городом-крепостью, который неоднократно укреплялся и перестраивался в угоду военной "моде". Так, самая крупная реконструкция города произошла после Наполеоновских войн, когда благодаря французской Контрибуции немецкое правительство получило большое количество денег, которое решило потратить на строительство огромной оборонительной системы вокруг Кенигсберга, самой мощной и современной по тем временам. Так были основаны 12 фортов Кенигсберга и ещё 3 дополнительных крепости, названные "Ночной периной Кенигсберга". Интересный факт: на строительство всех укреплений было потрачено несколько миллионов немецких марок, однако в итоге НИ ОДИН ФОРТ не выдержал длительной осады или не принял сражения вовсе. Прелесть в том, что в итоге сегодня большая часть фортов находится в плачевном состоянии, и это не из-за советских бомбежек в 1943-1944 годах, а из-за времени и отсутствия ухода. Сегодня большая часть фортов разрушена или законсервирована, они постепенно разрушаются. Только в двух ведутся работы по реконструкции, и то в одном - на средства благотворителей и с помощью волонтеров (форт №11 Дёнхофф). Там же для всех туристов проведут отличную экскурсию, которую я очень рекомендую посетить.

Хотите увидеть лучшие места Калининградской области? Закажите авторский тур!

Город-крепость Кенигсберг с момента включения в состав Советского Союза был переименован в Калининград, но большая часть строений здесь до сих пор имеют немецкие корни. Хотя город сильно пострадал во время войны (например, часть города на острове Канта была разрушена до основания), сегодня по всему центру можно встретить остовы древних фортификаций. Так, восемь немецких ворот по сей день украшают улицы, массивные кирпичные башни и бастионы встроены в городские парки и даже стали университетами, а в одном из бастионов расположился знаменитый музей янтаря - главный музей этого минерала в мире. Именно в Кенигсберге трудились лучшие мастера по изделиям из янтаря, основная часть которого добывается неподалеку, на побережье Балтийского моря.

Калининград.png

В городе сохранились целые районы, построенные немецкими архитекторами ещё до войны (например, Амалиенау). Тем не менее, город во многом был отстроен заново после войны. Так, в нём был заново отстроен католический Кенигсбергский собор на острове Канта, где также располагается могила знаменитого философа Иммануила Канта, который родился и трудился в Кенигсберге. Также неподалеку была восстановлена "Рыбная деревня" в традиционном для Германии стиле фахверк. Сегодня это скорее фишка для привлечения туристов, чем дань историческому наследию города. По течению реки Преголя был также отстроен музей Мирового океана, который представляет одну из лучших коллекций российских и иностранных мореплавателей и исследователей океана. Один из его филиалов находится в Светлогорске и посвящен аборигенским племенам Океании - очень советую заглянуть туда. Также в центре Калининграда, на набережной, расположен музей морской и военной техники, который крайне интересно увидеть своими глазами, а ещё главный фарс города - дом Советов. История этого здания настолько же комична, насколько и грустна.

После разрушения Кенигсбергского замка во время войны советскими властями было принято решение построить здание для городской и областной думы на его месте. В 1970 году было начато строительство, однако из-за проблем с неустойчивостью грунта проект приходилось не раз изменять и редактировать. В итоге к 1985 году, когда было готово 95% здания, стройка была полностью остановлена из-за нехватки денег на финальный этап. В 1995 году городская администрация решила привлечь инвесторов к достройке здания, в итоге передала его из госсобственности в частные руки. Созданное акционерное общество обанкротилось через несколько лет и продало свой "актив-долгострой" компании "Протострой". Но название компании не сыграло ей на руку, и у неё возникли проблемы с администрацией города по поводу законности покупки. А дом Советов, тем временем, стал местной легендой, в нём проводили экскурсии для любителей городского экстрима. В 2010 году сделка была признана недействительной, в итоге здание вернулось к городской администрации. И сегодня абсолютно непонятно, что с ним будет дальше. А между тем, это самое высокое здание в городе в самом его центре, не заметить которое невозможно. К тому же, оно стало даже "неофициальным символом города", и сносить его не позволяет местное население. Продолжение, как говориться, следует...

Калининградская область - это не только древние фортификации и город-крепость, но ещё и знаменитые курорты Балтийского моря. Благоустроенное ещё во времена немецких бюргеров, побережье Балтийского моря не претерпело значительных изменений и сегодня принимает туристов (в основном российских) на своих пляжах. На мой взгляд, в Риге или Гданьске и море чище, и вода теплее, и инфраструктура поудобнее и интереснее, но если нет возможности поехать туда, тогда пляжи Светлогорска или Зеленоградска - отличный выход. В этих курортных городах есть всё для спокойного морского отдыха: тихие улицы с тенистыми аллеями, ухоженные променады и множество красивых зданий в немецком стиле. Вода в море прохладная, зато летом не жарко - около +25 градусов. А ещё, если наскучит городская жизнь и захочется природного колорита, то недалеко находится один из лучших и красивейших национальных заповедников Европы - Куршская коса. Это вытянутая на 98 км песчаная коса входит в список Всемирного наследия ЮНЕСКО, и это совершенно заслуженно. Здесь чистейший воздух и уникальная флора и фауна. Тут можно увидеть настоящие песчаные дюны и "танцующий" лес, прогуляться по бескрайним пустынным пляжам с белым песком, и даже встретить диких зверей - лис, зайцев, кабанов, лосей и т.д. Здесь место для тех, кто ищет гармонии и уединения с природой. А ещё недалеко от Калининграда расположена крупнейшая база военно-морского флота России на Балтике. Если есть желание побывать на самой западной точке России ("Северный мол"), увидеть древние форты-крепости, российскую морскую военную технику и искупаться на белоснежных пляжах - вам в город Балтийск.

 

В целом, на мой взгляд, Калининградская область достойна внимания по нескольким причинам: здесь самые пустынные и чистые пляжи Балтийского моря (на Куршской косе), множество памятников истории и древних артефактов (форты и крепости), а также несколько уникальных музеев (музей Мирового океана, музей янтаря и т.д.). Ну и, конечно, отсюда можно отправиться изучать соседние страны Европы: Литву, Польшу или Беларусь. Приезжайте в Калининградскую область - российский анклав с немецкими корнями!

За более подробной информацией по поводу страны и размещенного контента просьба обращаться лично через контакты. Спасибо!

Хотите увидеть самые красивые и интересные места

Калининградской области? 

Напишите нам свои пожелания, и мы организуем для вас наилучший маршрут!