Russian

UTC+3

Orthodoxy

region center

language(s)

federal district

timezone

main religion

Kaluga region borders on the Moscow region, and therefore is popular with tourists from the capital. People come here to learn the history of the Konstantin Tsiolkovsky works in the Cosmonautics Museum, take a walk around the largest ethnographic park in Russia - Etnomir, enjoy the old city of Kaluga and relax among art objects in the Nikola-Lenivets art-park. But this is only a fraction of the places worthy of attention in this region!

Top 10 interesting places to visit:

 

Sights map of the Kaluga region

Yandex Map

Google Map

Detailed map of all places in the region can be seen on the website of the national tourism portal of Russia:

Russia.Travel.png

Travel around the Kaluga region

Kaluga region is bordered by the Moscow region, and therefore very popular with residents of Moscow and the Moscow region in terms of tourism. People come here for a day or two, whole weekends or even sightseeing tours. There is something to see in the Kaluga region, because historically this place was extremely rich and prosperous, and the absence of frequent military conflicts allowed to preserve the architectural richness of the region. But even if you do not take into account the ancient monasteries and palace complexes, in the Kaluga region there are some very unusual places that are worth visiting. The first and perhaps the most famous is the ethnographic park "Etnomir", which is a large open-air museum in Russia. The idea of ​​creating the park was to illustrate in one territory the entire diversity of cultural traditions and national customs of the Russia folks. Subsequently, the idea took root, and an even more ambitious project was implemented - to bring together the peoples of all continents under one roof. Today Etnomir is a huge museum complex in which various master classes and cultural performances, holidays and festivals take place every day, and a large complex of folk architecture (dedicated mainly to Russia folks) allows you to look inside the traditional dwellings. In my opinion, the "foreign" part of Etnomir is represented rather by a crowd of general cultural stereotypes than in providing a real opportunity to learn about the culture of an individual country. Moreover, most of the “culture” here is marketed and transmitted through a variety of spices, sweets, handicrafts, etc. Etnomir is such a big entertainment center with a claim to the image of the national wealth. Slightly less known, but noteworthy is the bird park "Sparrows", located in the same-name village and representing a huge nursery for thousands of bird species from around the world. Perhaps this is the largest and best nursery of birds of all that I have ever seen. Plus - here is a zoo, an ostrich farm, a terrarium and an exotarium, as well as many other things dedicated to the flora and fauna of the planet. Finally, if you want to be alone with nature and plunge into art with your head, welcome to the art-park "Nikola Lenivets", which is located in the Ugra National Reserve and represents a huge territory in which various artists and artists present their works.

But for those who prefer a more traditional holiday, with walks around cities and historical sights, the main interest will be the city of Kaluga, whose history goes back over 6 centuries. This is a city where famous scholars and artists worked, where a huge number of Orthodox churches and churches, ancient monuments of architecture and very beautiful nature. This is enough to visit it, right?

Historically, Kaluga was inhabited by the Vyatichi folk and was part of the Chernihiv principality. However, after the Mongol invasion, the principality was destroyed (although the city of Kozelsk covered itself with military glory), and the whole territory began to pay tribute to the Mongol yoke. This stopped only in 1480, when the Russian troops of Ivan III defeated the troops of the Tatar-Mongols, as a result of Moscow principality ceased to pay tribute and became independent. Since then, the history of the Kaluga lands as part of the Moscow principality began, the time of its prosperity and active development.

Калуга.png

Want to see the best sights of the Kaluga region? Book our author tour!

In the 17th century, becoming the center of trade between Europe, Moscow, Ukraine and Siberia, Kaluga became an incredibly rich and prosperous city. There were estates of wealthy Russian merchants, the main branches of state institutions and even Peter the Great county palace, which he rebuilt during his frequent visits to Europe (since the way to Europe from Moscow was always accompanied by passing through Kaluga). Having experienced hard times during the Russian Great Patriotic War of 1941-1945, Kaluga was able to partially restore the masterpieces of architecture of the 17-19 centuries, and today in the city you can find a large number of architectural monuments of those times. In addition, Kaluga is one of the most developed regions of Russia in terms of industry and agriculture, as well as high-tech industries. I suppose this is because from here it is not so far from Moscow, but the level of taxes and the cost of land and production are several times lower. But this is not necessarily the only factor. Anyway, Kaluga today is a great city for historical, cultural and relaxing leisure.

The first thing that catches the eye while walking around Kaluga is a huge number of Orthodox churches. In no other city I have seen such a concentration of these buildings; here they are located literally every 100 meters, and every church is a work of historical art: a variety of facades and layouts, colors and shapes of domes. Of course, Kaluga has always been famous for its commitment to Orthodox traditions, but I very much doubt that it is the most religious city in Russia ... however, you can get great pleasure walking through the city center and enjoying the restored facades of temples. I especially recommend to see the following temples: St. George’s Cathedral, Holy Trinity Cathedral, Church of Ioanna Predtechi and the Church of Cosmas and Damian. The latter is something absolutely fantastic, believe me.

The historical center of Kaluga, in the area of ​​"Stary Torg" Square, is a complex of buildings from the 17th and 18th centuries. This is the count palace of Peter the Great (now a branch of the Bauman Moscow State Technical University), Holy Trinity Cathedral and the Gostinye trade rows, which are the highlight of the city. Nearby is a stone bridge in the form of an aqueduct, followed by the art and local history museums of Kaluga, where you can learn more about the ancient history of the region and see the masterpieces of local artists. Kaluga also has become world famous as a center of cosmonautics. Here works the famous scientist K.E. Tsiolkovsky, here is the second major Museum of the History of Astronautics in Russia. In my opinion, the Museum of Cosmonautics in Moscow is several times larger than the exposition of the museum in Kaluga, however, the latter attracts many people who want to learn about the labor history of the great designers and heroes of the national cosmonautics. Immediately behind the museum begins the elongated Yachenskaya embankment, where you can relax by the water, go fishing or stroll along the banks of the reservoir. Kaluga is also famous for its military exploits, especially during the last World War II, in honor of which the Victory Monument towers on Victory Square, with an avenue of heroes and a monument to Marshal Zhukov, who, by the way, was born and raised in Kaluga.

But not only Kaluga is famous in the region. It has many small cities that are waiting for your attention. Borovsk, Maloyaroslavets, Kozelsk, Tarusa ... Each of them is filled with comfort, wooden architecture, ancient temples and natural landscapes that you want to enjoy forever. As the Soviet writer Konstantin Paustovsky wrote about Tarusa: "I live in one small city on the Oka. It is so small that all its streets go either to the river with its smooth and solemn turns, or to the fields where the wind pumps bread, or to the forests, where in spring wild cherry blossoms between birches and pines ... "

A trip to the Kaluga region is an opportunity to relax in nature, to get acquainted with the culture of the Russian folk, visit many beautiful Orthodox churches and breathe a rich history in the historical center of Kaluga. Seeing everything at one time is unlikely to work out, and therefore visiting the area can become a nicely tradition of weekend trips.

 

Come to Kaluga region - you will definitely enjoy the trip!

Want to see the best sights of the Kaluga region? Book our author tour!

In Russia there are other places worthy of attention. Find out more about them!

Contact Information

+7 925 186-74-87

  • Subscribe to Facebook
  • Subscribe to VK
  • Follow Instagram
  • Chat in Telegram
  • Chat in WhatsApp

Калужская область: природа, православие и космонавтика

Калужская область.png

Основные факты:

  • Административный центр: Калуга

  • Федеральный округ: Центральный

  • Язык(и): русский

  • Население: 1,012,000

  • Часовой пояс: UTC+3

  • Основная религия: православие

Топ 10 интересных мест:

Карта достопримечательностей Калужской области

Путешествие по Калужской области

Калужская область граничит с Московской областью, а потому весьма популярна у жителей Москвы и Подмосковья в плане туризма. Сюда приезжают на день или два, целые выходные или даже целыми экскурсионными турами. В Калужской области есть на что посмотреть, потому что исторически это место было крайне богатым и зажиточным, а отсутствие частых военных конфликтов позволило сохранить архитектурное богатство региона. Но даже если не брать в расчет древние монастыри и дворцовые комплексы, в Калужской области есть несколько крайне необычных мест, посетить которые точно стоит. Первое и, пожалуй, самое известное - это этнографический парк "Этномир", который представляет из себя большой музей-заповедник под открытым небом. Идея создания парка заключалась в иллюстрации на одной территории всего разнообразия культурных традиций и национальных обычаев народов России. Впоследствии идея прижилась, и был реализован ещё более масштабный проект - собрать под одной крышей народы всех континентов. Сегодня Этномир представляет из себя огромный музейный комплекс, в котором каждый день происходят различные мастер-классы и культурные представления, праздники и фестивали, а большой комплекс народного зодчества (посвященный в основном российским народам) позволяет заглянуть внутрь традиционных жилищ. На мой взгляд, "иностранная" часть Этномира представлена скорее скопищем общекультурных стереотипов, чем предоставляет реальную возможность узнать о культуре отдельного народа или страны. Более того, большая часть "культуры" здесь маркетизирована и передаётся через разнообразные пряности, сладости, изделия народного промысла и т.д. Этномир - это такой большой развлекательный центр с претензией на изображение народного достояния. Чуть менее известный, но достойный внимания - парк птиц "Воробьи", разместившийся в одноименной деревни и представляющий собой огромный питомник для тысяч видов птиц со всего мира. Пожалуй, это самый крупный и лучший питомник птиц из всех, которые я когда-либо видел. Плюс - на территории парка есть ещё зоопарк, страусиная ферма, террариум и экзотариум, а также много других штук, посвященных флоре и фауне планеты. Наконец, если вам хочется побыть наедине с природой и окунуться в искусство с головой, добро пожаловать в арт-парк "Никола Ленивец", который находится в национальном заповеднике "Угра" и представляет собой огромную территорию, на которой разные художники и деятели искусства представляют свои произведения.

Но для тех, кто предпочитает более традиционный отдых, с прогулками по городам и историческим достопримечательностям, главный интерес представит город Калуга, история которого насчитывает вот уже более 6 веков. Это город, где трудились прославленные учёные и деятели искусства, где огромное количество православных храмов и церквей, древние памятники архитектуры и очень красивая природа. Этого уже достаточно, чтобы посетить его, правда?

Хотите увидеть лучшие места Калужской области? Закажите авторский тур!

Исторически Калуга была населена народом вятичей, входила в состав Черниговского княжества. Однако после нашествия монголов княжество было разрушено (хотя город Козельск покрыл себя военной славой), а вся территория начала платить дань монгольскому игу. Это прекратилось только в 1480 году, когда русские войска Ивана III победили войска татаро-монголов, в результате Московское княжество перестало платить дань и стало независимым. С той поры ведется история калужских земель в составе Московского княжества, время его процветания и активного развития.

Калуга.png

В 17 веке став центром торговли между Европой, Москвой, Украиной и Сибирью, Калуга стала невероятно богатым и процветающим городом. Здесь были поместья состоятельных российских купцов, главные отделения государственных учреждений и даже уездный дворец Петра I, который он отстроил во время частых визитов в Европу (поскольку путь в Европу из Москвы неизменно сопровождался проездом через Калугу). Испытав тяжелые времена во время Великой Отечественной войны 1941-1945 гг., Калуга сумела отчасти восстановить шедевры зодчества 17-19 веков, и сегодня в городе можно встретить большое число памятников архитектуры тех времен. Помимо этого, Калуга является одним из самых развитых регионов России в плане промышленности и сельского хозяйства, а также высокотехнологичных производств. Полагаю, это потому что отсюда не так далеко до Москвы, зато уровень налогов и стоимость земли и производства в разы ниже. Но это не обязательно единственный фактор. Так или иначе, Калуга сегодня является прекрасным городом для исторического, культурного и спокойного досуга.

Первое, что бросается в глаза во время прогулок по Калуге - это огромное количество православных храмов и церквей. Ни в одном другом городе я не видел такой концентрации этих зданий; здесь они расположены буквально через каждые 100 метров, и что ни церковь - то произведение искусства. Самых разных фасадов и планировок, цветовой отделки и формы куполов. Конечно, Калуга всегда славилась своей приверженностью православным традициям, но я очень сомневаюсь, что это самый религиозный город в России... как бы там ни было, можно получить большое удовольствие, прогуливаясь по центру города и наслаждаясь отреставрированными фасадами храмов. Особенно рекомендую увидеть следующие храмы: Свято-Георгиевский собор, Свято-Троицкий собор, храм Рождества Богородицы, церковь Иоанна Предтечи и церковь Косьмы и Дамиана. Последняя представляет из себя нечто совершенно фантастическое, увидите - поймете.

Исторический центр Калуги - в районе площади Старый Торг - представляет собой комплекс построек 17-18 веков. Это уездный дворец Петра I (ныне филиал МГТУ им. Баумана), Свято-Троицкой собор и Гостиные ряды, которые являются изюминкой города. Неподалеку расположен каменный мост в форме акведука, а следом за ним - художественный и краеведческий музеи Калуги, где расскажут о древней истории края и покажут шедевры местных художников. Калуга стала известной на весь мир как центр космонавтики. Именно здесь трудился прославленный ученый К.Э. Циолковский, тут и расположен второй крупный музей истории космонавтики. На мой взгляд, музей космонавтики в Москве в разы превосходит экспозицию музея в Калуге, тем не менее, последний привлекает множество желающих узнать об истории труда великих конструкторов и героев отечественной космонавтики. Сразу за музеем начинается вытянутая Яченская набережная, на которой можно спокойно отдохнуть у воды, заняться рыбалкой или прогуляться по берегу водохранилища. А ещё Калуга знаменита своими военными подвигами, особенно во время последней Великой Отечественной войны, в честь чего на площади Победы возвышается монумент победителям, есть аллея героев и памятник маршалу Жукову, который, кстати, родился и вырос в Калуге.

Поездка в Калужскую область - это возможность отдохнуть в лоне природы, познакомиться с культурой народов России и мира, посетить множество красивых православных храмов и вдохнуть богатую историю в историческом центре Калуги. Увидеть все за один раз вряд ли получится, а потому посещение области может стать прекрасной традицией поездок выходного дня. Приезжайте в Калугу - вам здесь обязательно понравится!

За более подробной информацией по поводу страны и размещенного контента просьба обращаться лично через контакты. Спасибо!