Kabardino-Balkaria: the union of steppes and mountains

Main facts:

  • Administrative center: Nalchik

  • Federal District: Caucasus region

  • Language(s): Kabardian, Balkar, Russian

  • Population: 865,000

  • Timezone: UTC+3

  • Main religion: Islam (70%), Orthodoxy

Top 10 attractions:

Sights map of Kabardino-Balkaria

Travel around Kabardino-Balkaria Republic

The Kabardino-Balkarian Republic is an unusual and interesting place. This republic is spread on the steppe plains and mountain ranges of the Caucasus, combining many friendly peoples. First of all, these are Kabardians - the ancestors of the Adygs who resettled here from the lands of Western Asia and Turkey at the beginning of the first millennium. Modern inhabitants of the Republic of Adygea and the Circassians were a single ethnos, but then history separated them. At first, the Tatar-Mongolian army that came to the Caucasian lands crushed most of the Caucasian peoples, including Kabardians (as merchants and travelers called them). And then the troops of Tamerlane invading the Caucasus from Central Asia finally defeated a large, prosperous people, who supported the Tatar-Mongol and eventually had to flee to the lands of the Central Caucasus and the mountainous regions. Most of them settled on the modern lowland lands of Kabardino-Balkaria, where their ancestors live to this day. The Balkars are the people of another mindset, they have lived since ancient times in the mountainous regions of the Caucasus and therefore are considered one of the mountain peoples. However, due to the difficult and harsh living conditions, they could never give a serious rebuff to the more numerous and powerful invaders, eventually remaining in the mountainous regions of Balkaria. At that moment, when Kabardians became their neighbors, the Balkars decided to negotiate with them for a mutually beneficial existence, which eventually happened. Since then (14-15 century AD), Kabardians and Balkars have closely maintained contact with each other, traded and supported in military conflicts. At the end of the 18th century, first Kabarda, and then Balkaria became part of Russia by peaceful means, and since then, prosperity has come to these lands. Russian masters and artisans came here, schools and state institutions were built, factories and agrarian manufactures were founded. By the beginning of the 20th century, Russian residents constituted the second largest national group in Kabardino-Balkaria.

After the October Revolution in Russia, Kabardino-Balkaria became part of the independent Mountainous Republic, which united the different peoples of the Caucasus, but a year later it withdrew from its composition and returned to Russia. During World War II, local lands were seized by German troops, and heavy fighting took place over the city of Nalchik and Mount Elbrus. However, after the liberation of the territory in 1944, the Soviet government issued a decree on the eviction of Balkarians (not Kabardians) from the territory of the republic, as a result was mass genocide of the Balkar people by analogy with the Ingush and Chechens. Although its consequences were not so terrible, this page of the history of the republic will forever remain blacked out of tragedy. In 1957, the Balkarians were allowed to return to their mountain settlements, as a result, since 1957, the Kabardian ASSR was again renamed Kabardino-Balkaria, which became the Kabardino-Balkarian Republic after the collapse of the Soviet Union.

Today, Kabardino-Balkaria is a peaceful and prosperous region, where there are many business incubators and production centers, a very large agricultural sector (on the flat part near Nalchik, Cool, Baksan, etc.) and several mining industries in mountainous areas. There are not so many beautiful sights for tourism in the republic, but one of them stands out among them - Mount Elbrus. This famous mountain peak rises above the whole Caucasus and is the highest volcano in Europe (5642 m). It is in Kabardino-Balkaria that people come to climb it, as well as many other five-thousand-meter mountains which are the part of the highest mountain system of the Caucasus. Actually, almost all the highest mountain peaks and ridges of the Caucasus are located in Kabardino-Balkaria, and tourists from all over Russia and from abroad come to observe them. For visitors, all conditions have been created for a comfortable stay in the villages adjacent to the foot of Elbrus, and the excellent hotel infrastructure and cableways make it easy for people to get acquainted with the most beautiful places of the republic.

For a full visit to Kabardino-Balkaria, you need a great desire and a personal car. Because to see the breathtaking mountain landscapes, the archaeological remains of the ancient mountain settlements of Balkarians, the real "city of deads" in Eltyuby and many other beautiful places, you need to drive dozens of kilometers along mountain serpentines. Unfortunately, public transport here is underdeveloped, and excursion tours are mainly devoted to trips to the foot of Elbrus and walks through the capital of the republic, Nalchik. Therefore, for a complete journey you need a car. Most come to the republic to contemplate the majestic Elbrus, and it is worth it - the incredible harsh nature of the Caucasus nowhere else looks so exciting and majestic as in the Baksan gorge - the direct road to Elbrus. If the weather is good, be sure to try yourself in climbing this mountain - it's not as difficult as it seems, especially if you climb three quarters with the cable car. And what a landscapes open from a height ...

Although most of Kabardino-Balkaria is a small flat village-type settlement, with a dense one-story building, where there is nothing super-unique, every tourist should see the capital of the republic - the city of Nalchik. Once built as a Russian fortress for the defense of the Caucasian lands, today Nalchik is a large city with well-kept parks, cozy streets and a beautiful central square. I liked the House of the Republic Government most of all, as well as the view of the city buried in verdure from the observation deck of the colorful restaurant Sosruko, built in honor of the great hero of the Nart epos. In Nalchik you can definitely spend a day or two, but of course, it doesn’t compare with mountain landscapes. And in general, only for that sake, I invite you to visit the Kabardino-Balkarian Republic, which weakly clings to its national roots, but to this day remains a hospitable land with ancient history and rich nature.

For more information about the country and the posted content, please contact me in person through contacts form. Thank you!

Want to go on an unforgettable private tour
in Kabardino-Balkaria?

Write to us and we will tell you about all the details of the trip:

Кабардино-Балкария: союз золотой степи и горных вершин

Основные факты:

  • Административный центр: Нальчик

  • Федеральный округ: Северо-Кавказский

  • Язык(и): кабардинский, балкарский, русский

  • Население: 865,000

  • Часовой пояс: UTC+3

  • Основная религия: ислам (70%), христианство

Топ 10 интересных мест:

Карта достопримечательностей Кабардино-Балкарии

Путешествие по Кабардино-Балкарской Республике

Кабардино-Балкарская Республика - место необычное и интересное. Эта республика раскинулась на степных равнинах и горных хребтах Кавказа, соединяя в себе много дружественных народов. В первую очередь, это кабардинцы - предки адыгов, переселившихся сюда с земель Западной Азии и Турции ещё в начале первого тысячелетия. Некогда современные жители республики Адыгея и адыги были единым этносом, но затем история размежевала их. Сначала пришедшее в Кавказские земли татаро-монгольское войско подмяло под себя большинство кавказских народов, включая кабардинцев (так их именовали купцы и путешественники). А затем вторгшиеся на Кавказ из Средней Азии войска Тамерлана окончательно разгромили большой процветающий народ, который поддержал татаро-монгол и в итоге был вынужден бежать в земли Центрального Кавказа и горные районы. Они в большинстве осели на современных равнинных землях Кабардино-Балкарии, где их предки проживают по сей день. Балкарцы - народ другого склада, они издревле жили в горных районах Кавказа и потому считаются одним из горских народов. Однако из-за сложных и суровых условий жизни они никогда не могли дать серьёзный отпор более многочисленным и сильным захватчикам, в итоге оставались жить в горных районах Балкарии. В тот момент, когда их соседями стали кабардинцы, балкарцы решили договориться с соседями для взаимовыгодного существования, что в итоге и случилось. С той поры (14-15 век нашей эры) кабардинцы и балкарцы тесно поддерживали друг с другом контакты, торговали и поддерживали в военных конфликтах. В конце 18 века сначала Кабарда, а затем и Балкария вошли в состав России мирным путём, и с той поры в эти земли пришло процветание. Сюда приезжали русские мастера и ремесленники, строились школы и государственные учреждения, основывались фабрики и аграрные производства. К началу 20 века русские жители составляли вторую по размеру национальную группу в Кабардино-Балкарии.

После Октябрьской революции в России Кабардино-Балкария вошла в состав независимой Горской республики, объединявшей разные народы Кавказа, однако уже через год вышла из её состава и вернулась в Россию. Во время Великой Отечественной войны местные земли были захвачены немецкими войсками, происходили тяжелые бои за город Нальчик и Приэльбрусье. Однако после освобождения территории в 1944 году, советским правительством был издан указ о выселении балкарцев (не кабардинцев) с территории республики, в результате был устроен массовый геноцид балкарского народа по аналогии с ингушами и чеченцами. Хотя его последствия были не такими ужасными, эта страница истории республики навсегда останется закрашенной черной краской трагедии. В 1957 году балкарцам было позволено вернуться в свои горные поселения, в результате с 1957 году Кабардинская АССР была вновь переименована в Кабардино-Балкарскую, которая после распада Советского Союза стала Кабардино-Балкарской Республикой.

Сегодня Кабардино-Балкария - это мирный процветающий край, где есть множество бизнес-инкубаторов и производственных центров, очень большой сельскохозяйственный сектор (на равнинной части около Нальчика, Прохладного, Баксана) и несколько горнодобывающих производств в горных районах. Для туризма в республике есть много красивых природных достопримечательностей, среди них особо выделяется одна - гора Эльбрус. Этот знаменитый горный пик возвышается над всем Кавказом и является самым высоким вулканом в Европе (5642 м). Именно в Кабардино-Балкарию приезжают для того, чтобы совершить восхождение на него, а также множество других пятитысячников, которые составляют самую высокую горную систему Кавказа. Собственно, в Кабардино-Балкарии расположены почти все самые высокие горные пики и хребты Кавказа, и именно для их созерцания сюда приезжают туристы со всей России и из-за рубежа. Для приезжих созданы все условия для комфортного пребывания в поселках, прилегающих к подножию Эльбруса, а прекрасная гостиничная инфраструктура и канатные дороги облегчают для людей знакомство с самыми красивыми местами республики.

Для полноценного посещения Кабардино-Балкарии нужно большое желание и личный автомобиль. Потому что увидеть захватывающие горные пейзажи, археологические останки древних горских поселений балкарцев, настоящий город мёртвых в Эльтюбю и многие другие красивые места, нужно проехать десятки километров по горным серпантинам. К сожалению, общественный транспорт здесь развит мало, а экскурсионные туры посвящены в основном поездкам к подножию Эльбруса и прогулкам по столице республики Нальчику. Поэтому для полноценного осмотра самостоятельным туристам нужен свой автомобиль. Большинство приезжает в республику для созерцания величественного Эльбруса, и это стоит того - невероятная суровая природа Кавказа нигде больше не выглядит настолько захватывающе и величественно, как в Баксанском ущелье - прямой дороге к Эльбрусу. Если будет хорошая погода, обязательно попробуйте себя в восхождении на эту гору - это не так трудно, как кажется, особенно если подняться на три четверти с помощью канатной дороги. А какие пейзажи открываются с высоты...

Хотя большая часть Кабардино-Балкарии - это небольшие равнинные поселения деревенского типа, с плотной одноэтажной застройкой, где нет ничего сверх-уникального, каждому туристу стоит увидеть столицу республики - город Нальчик. Некогда возведенный как русская крепость для обороны Кавказских земель, сегодня Нальчик является большим городом с ухоженными парками, уютными улицами и красивой центральной площадью. Особо выделяется среди его достопримечательностей Дом правительства республики, а также вид на утопающий в зелени город со смотровой площадки колоритного ресторана "Сосруко", выстроенного в честь великого героя нартского эпоса. В Нальчике определенно можно провести день-другой, но, конечно, он не сравнится с пейзажами горных районов. И в целом хотя бы ради них я приглашаю вас посетить Кабардино-Балкарскую Республику, которая слабо держится за свои национальные корни, но по сей день остаётся гостеприимным краем с древней историей и богатейшей природой.

За более подробной информацией по поводу страны и размещенного контента просьба обращаться лично через контакты. Спасибо!

Хотите увидеть самые красивые и интересные места

Кабардино-Балкарии? 

Напишите нам свои пожелания, и мы организуем для вас наилучший маршрут!