Kostroma region: the legends of Russian crafts

Кострома.png

Main facts:

  • Administrative center: Kostroma

  • Federal District: Central

  • Language(s): Russian

  • Population: 637 296

  • Timezone: UTC+3

  • Main religion: Orthodoxy, Islam

Top 10 attractions:

Sights map of Kostroma region

Travel around Kostroma region

Woe to the traveler who does not know about the region as much as possible before gets there. It is not just about transport logistics, local sights and folk crafts, but in many ways about the ancient history of the region. No matter what place a traveler takes, he can be sure - it hides in itself deep antiquity, full of mysterious and large-scale events that created it in its current form. In pursuit of sights and fast rush in an attempt to “embrace the immense”, many tourists lose sight of the history of the place they see, although it fills the place with a deep meaning and content that makes up the strongest impression. Over time, when the trip will be only in photos and in a set of fragmentary scenes, it is strong impressions that will create the tales, which can be told again and again.

It so happened that my trip to Kostroma was largely spontaneous. Sunny warm weather, which in the near future will turn into rains and cold, beckoned to get out of the stifling metropolis into a fresh nature. And my endless curiosity and desire to see new places showed me the direction - to Kostroma. I have already been to the neighboring Yaroslavl and Ivanovo regions, and therefore Kostroma became the goal of my small trip. Small, because there was an opportunity to get out only for the weekend, and the Kostroma region is not so far from Moscow, which made it possible not to spend a lot of time and money on the way there. Quickly collecting a backpack and buying a train ticket, I went to explore the land "on the other side of the Volga" (from Moscow, of course).

Arriving in Kostroma, my first impression was as follows: "how clean it is here!" Indeed, Kostroma impresses with its purity and tidiness. It can be seen that the city is well looked after, and the locals follow the order of no less than the city authorities. This concerns not only wide streets and boulevards, lined with green trees and flowers, but also ancient wooden and stone buildings, many of which are examples of ancient Russian art. Walking along Sovetskaya Street (and this is almost the very center of the city), it is impossible not to draw attention to single-storied houses standing close to each other, painted in pastel colors. Sometimes they are interspersed with creative Soviet buildings (see the Philharmonic building) and modern shopping centers, but most of them still carry the spirit of an old merchant city. The streets of Tchaikovsky, Dzerzhinsky and Sovetskaya Square are examples of Russian architecture from the 18th and 19th centuries, which are perfectly preserved to this day.

Moving closer to the center of Kostroma, you will surely meet the Central Park along the way. Once in its place stood a huge Kremlin, which served to protect the entire Kostroma principality from robberies and raids of enemies from neighboring principalities. It was repeatedly burned and rebuilt, but was remained in a single ensemble of walls and churches until 1934, when the continued struggle of Soviet officials against religion led to the complete destruction of the Kremlin. Today, only small cores of the walls remind of the once large fortress over Kostroma; there are also attempts to restore the historic cathedral. And the history of Kostroma itself goes into deep antiquity, when Yuri Dolgorukyi mastered his possessions in the north of Russia. According to legend, it was he who in 1152 laid the foundations of the future city. Throughout history, the Rurik family was closely associated with Kostroma, thanks in large part to the redistribution of disputed territories and military actions with neighboring Vladimir-Suzdal and Rostov principalities. The ancient city of Galich, which according to some sources is even older than Kostroma, was another stronghold of the Russian people in these wild wooded lands and at one time had its own specific principality, but failed during the struggle with the Moscow principality. Since then, both the Kostroma and Galich principalities were annexed to Moscow and existed under its administration until the collapse of the Russian Empire.

Beginning from the 13th and 14th centuries, several Orthodox monasteries were erected in the environs of Kostroma, among which the Ipatievsky Monastery stands out. Huge fortress walls with a high cathedral inside, which repeatedly participated in the battles and played a significant role during the events of the Time of Troubles. The attack of the Polish-Lithuanian interventionists under the leadership of Pan Lisowsky strongly ruined these lands, but it was the local people who rebelled against them and triumphantly captured the Ipatievsky Monastery where the enemies was sat. Local resident Ivan Susanin saved Tsar Mikhail Romanov from the Polish-Lithuanian detachment during the Russo-Polish War here. It was in the Ipatievsky Monastery in 1613 that Tsar Mikhail Romanov was crowned, and thus Kostroma became the “cradle” of the royal and imperial Romanov dynasty. And Ivan Susanin became a national hero, to whom the most beautiful square of Kostroma is dedicated (not to Lenin, not to the Soviet people, but to Susanin!). Since then, the rapid development and prosperity of this region began.

Want to see the best sights of the Kostroma region? Book our author tour!

By the middle of the 17th century, Kostroma became the third handicraft city of Russia after Moscow and Yaroslavl in its economic development and the number of inhabitants. Here there were many industrial enterprises, among which were textile, leather, soap-making, silver and icon-painting production. Kostroma craftsmen were known far outside the country, and their jewelry, linen textiles and iconography became the basis of the region’s cultural heritage. For these Russian crafts, tourists come from all over the country!

Кострома (город).png

After the reforms of Peter the Great, Kostroma literally changed. When the wooden city once again burned down in 1779, it was decided to rebuild it according to the general plan, as a result Kostroma acquired the current look. From the central Susaninskaya Square, where the royal palace, the fire tower, the garrison of soldiers and the provincial administration were located, the main alleys and streets diverged in rays. On the banks of the Volga, a pier was built and the Moscow outpost, which in 1767 hosted by Catherine the Great. She arrived in Kostroma on her gallery “Tver” and established the coat of arms of Kostroma with its image, which still here today. At the same time, one of the largest linen manufactories in Russia was founded in Kostroma, which continues to operate to this day. All the royal personages continued to visit Kostroma over the next two centuries, paying tribute to the memory of ancestors and the feat of Ivan Susanin. No wonder that this became a stumbling block for the Bolsheviks, who sought to destroy all the memory of the country's royal heritage. What they began to do after the establishment of their power in the new country.

In the 1930s, the Stone Kremlin was destroyed in Kostroma along with an ensemble of Orthodox churches. Earlier, a monument to Ivan Susanin was demolished, and the square was renamed to the Revolution Square. The Ipatievsky Monastery, which played such a significant role in the history of the city and the Romanov dynasty, has survived in a surprising way, although it has also suffered greatly. However, linen manufacture and many other factories continued to operate here, the city was gradually built up with stone buildings, and trade and craftsmanship did not stop for a minute. The Eastern Front did not affect the city, and therefore it has perfectly preserved its ancient merchant look, which you can admire today. Large-scale shopping arcades, a complex of buildings on Susaninskaya Square, the palaces of the Romanov Tsars and old wooden tower-rooms...for this, it is worth visiting Kostroma.

Unfortunately, this cannot be said about other cities and settlements in the Kostroma region. Mainly supported by the efforts of local residents, the ancient cities of Galich, Chukhloma and Sharya are a bit old, but soulful sincerity. There are practically no architectural sights and cultural heritage that could be admired here. Most people are leaving to work in Kostroma, and residents of distant villages lead their own lives. However, the Kostroma land has always been famous for craftsmen who are willing to spend their lives on the work that brings them inspiration. They are the salt of the land of Kostroma who decorates it and creates a basis for admiration. If you visit the wooden terems in Astashovo and Pogorelovo, if you see the stone walls of the Gorodetsky and Galichsky monasteries or stroll through the places of the feat of Ivan Susanin, then you will feel the whole atmosphere of these places.

Woe to the traveler who does not know about the region as much as possible before gets there. History, attractions and folk traditions - now you know enough to see the most beautiful and interesting places in the region. Kostroma region is about the conquest of wildlife, the art of folk crafts and the legendary Russian wooden architecture. For this it is worth coming here!

For more information about the country and the posted content, please contact me in person through contacts form. Thank you!

Костромская область: легенды русских ремёсел

Кострома.png

Основные факты:

  • Административный центр: Кострома

  • Федеральный округ: Центральный

  • Язык(и): русский

  • Население: 637 296

  • Часовой пояс: UTC+3

  • Основные религии: православие, ислам

Топ 10 интересных мест:

Карта достопримечательностей Костромской области

Путешествие по Костромской области

Горе тому путешественнику, который не узнает о регионе как можно больше до того, как туда попадёт. Речь идёт не просто о транспортной логистике, местных достопримечательностях и народных ремеслах, но во многом о древней истории края. В какое бы место не занесло путешественника, он может быть однозначно уверен - оно скрывает в себе глубокую древность, полную таинственных и масштабных событий, создавших его в текущем виде. В погоне за достопримечательностями и быстрой спешке в попытке "объять необъятное" многие туристы упускают из виду историю места, которое они видят, хотя именно она наполняет его глубоким смыслом и содержанием, из которого складывается самое сильное впечатление. По прошествии времени, когда от поездки останутся одни лишь фотографии и набор отрывочных сюжетов, именно сильные впечатления станут основной воспоминаний, о которых можно будет рассказывать вновь и вновь.

Так случилось, что моя поездка в Кострому выдалась во многом спонтанно. Солнечная теплая погода, которая в ближайшем будущем предвещала обернутся дождями и холодом, манила выбраться из душного мегаполиса на свежую природу. А моё нескончаемое любопытство и желание увидеть новые места указали мне направление - в Кострому. В соседних Ярославской и Ивановской областях я уже бывал, а потому именно Кострома стали целью моей небольшой поездки. Небольшой, потому что была возможность выбраться лишь на выходные, а Костромская область находится не так далеко от Москвы, что позволяло не тратить много времени и средств на путь туда. Быстро собрав рюкзак и купив билет на поезд, я отправился на исследование земли "по ту сторону Волги" (от Москвы, конечно).

Приехав в Кострому, моё первое впечатление было следующим: "как же здесь чисто!". Действительно, Кострома поражает своей чистотой и опрятностью. Видно, что за городом отлично ухаживают, а местные жители следят за порядком не меньше городских властей. Касается это не только широких улиц и бульваров, усаженных зелеными деревьями и цветами, но также и старинных деревянных и каменных зданий, многие из которых являются образцами древнерусского искусства. Прогуливаясь по Советской улице (а это почти самый центр города), невозможно не обратить внимание на стоящие вплотную друг к другу одноэтажные дома, раскрашенные в цветные пастельные тона. Порой они перемежаются с креативными советскими постройками (см. здание филармонии) и современными торговыми центрами, но большинство из них по-прежнему несут в себе дух старинного купеческого города. Улицы Чайковского, Дзержинского и Советская площадь - образцы русской архитектуры 18-19 веков, которые отлично сохранились до наших дней.

Продвигаясь всё ближе к центру Костромы, по пути обязательно встретится Центральный парк. Некогда на его месте возвышался огромный Кремль, служивший защите всего Костромского княжества от грабежей и набегов врагов из соседних княжеств. Он неоднократно горел и перестраивался, но сохранялся в едином ансамбле стен и церквей вплоть до 1934 года, когда продолжающаяся борьба советских чиновников с религией привела к уничтожения кремля. Сегодня лишь небольшие остовы стен напоминают о некогда большой крепости над Костромой; также происходят попытки восстановить исторический собор. А история самой Костромы уходит в глубокую древность, когда Юрий Долгорукий осваивал свои владения на севере Руси. По легенде, именно он в 1152 году заложил основы будущего города. На протяжении истории род Рюриковичей был тесно связан с Костромой, во многом благодаря переделу спорных территорий и военными действиями с соседними Владимиро-Суздальским и Ростовским княжествами. Древний город Галич, который по некоторым данным даже старше Костромы, был ещё одним оплотом русского народа в этих диких лесистых землях и одно время имел своё удельное княжество, но во время борьбы с Московским княжеством потерпел неудачу. С той поры и Костромское, и Галичское княжество были присоединены к Московскому и существовали под его управлением вплоть до развала Российской Империи.  

 

Начиная с 13-14 веков, в окрестностях Костромы были возведены несколько православных монастырей, среди которых особо выделяется Ипатьевский монастырь. Огромные крепостные стены с высоким собором внутри, который неоднократно участвовал в битвах и сыграл значительную роль во время событий Смутного времени. Нападение польско-литовских интервентов под предводительством пана Лисовского сильно разорило эти земли, однако именно местные жители восстали против них и с триумфом взяли Ипатьевский монастырь, в котором заседали враги. Местный житель Иван Сусанин именно здесь спас царя Михаила Романова от польско-литовского отряда во время русско-польской войны. Именно в Ипатьевском монастыре в 1613 году царь Михаил Романов был призван на царство, и, таким образом, Кострома стала «колыбелью» царской и императорской династии Романовых. А Иван Сусанин стал национальным героем, которому посвящена самая красивая площадь Костромы (не Ленину, не Советскому народу, а именно Сусанину!). С той поры началось бурное развитие и процветание этого края.

Хотите увидеть лучшие места Костромской области? Закажите авторский тур!

К середине XVII века Кострома по своему экономическому развитию и числу жителей становится третьим после Москвы и Ярославля ремесленным городом Руси. Здесь находилось множество промышленных предприятий, среди которых было текстильное, кожевенное, мыловаренное, серебряное и иконописное производство. Костромские умельцы были известны далеко за пределами страны, а их ювелирный промысел, льняной текстиль и иконопись стали основой культурного достояния региона.

Кострома (город).png

После реформ Петра I Кострома буквально преобразилась. Когда деревянный город в очередной раз сгорел в 1779 году, было принято решение выстроить его заново по генеральному плану, в результате Кострома приобрела текущий облик. От центральной Сусанинской площади, где располагались царский дворец, пожарная колокольня, гарнизон солдат и губернская администрация, лучами расходились главные аллеи и улицы. На берегу Волги была построена пристань и Московская застава, которая в 1767 году принимала царицу Екатерину II. Она прибыла в Кострому на своей галере «Тверь» и учредила герб Костромы с её изображением, который и красуется здесь поныне. В то же время в Костроме была заложена одна из крупнейших льняных мануфактур в России, которая продолжает работать и по сей день. А все царские особы продолжали посещать Кострому на протяжении двух последующих веков, отдавая дань памяти предкам и герою Ивану Сусанину. Немудрено, что это стало камнем преткновения для большевиков, которые стремились уничтожить всю память о царском наследии страны. Что они и начали делать после установления своей власти в новой стране.

В 1930-х годах в Костроме был уничтожен каменный Кремль вместе с ансамблем православных храмов. Ранее был снесён памятник Ивану Сусанину, а площадь переименована в площадь Революции. Удивительным образом сохранился Ипатьевский монастырь, который сыграл такую значимую роль в истории города и династии Романовых, хотя он тоже сильно пострадал. Однако здесь продолжали действовать льняная мануфактура и множество других заводов, город постепенно застраивался каменными зданиями, а торговля и ремесленное мастерство не останавливались ни на минуту. Великая Отечественная война не затронула город, а потому в нем отлично сохранился его старинный купеческий облик, восхищаться которым можно и сегодня. Масштабные торговые ряды, комплекс зданий на Сусанинской площади, дворцы царей Романовых и старинные деревянные терема - ради этого стоит посетить Кострому.