Russian

UTC+3

Orthodoxy

region center

language(s)

federal district

timezone

main religion

The swampy territory of the Leningrad region with thousands of lakes was little populated until the foundation of Saint Petersburg. With the advent of royal power, magnificent palaces worthy of the best architectural ensembles in Europe began to built on its land. But along with them, ancient cities and villages continue to live, where the history of the region was going on: Staraya Ladoga, Koporye, Vyborg, Tikhvin ... Dozens of manors, monasteries, forts and natural landscapes await you here!

Top 10 interesting places to visit:

 

Sights map of the Leningrad region

Yandex Map

Google Map

Detailed map of all places in the region can be seen on the website of the national tourism portal of Russia:

Russia.Travel.png

Travel around the Leninrad region

The Leningrad region (or Saint Petersburg region) was historically inhabited by Finno-Ugric tribes who owned the territories of neighboring Finland and Estonia. In the 8th century AD, the settlement of Ladoga (now Staraya Ladoga) was founded - the first settlement of Russians in these lands, which was an important stronghold. In the 10th century, the city of Novgorod, which begins to recapture local lands from the Finno-Ugric peoples, becomes more important. By the 12th century, Veliky Novgorod became the center of a strong Novgorod principality, which owned vast spaces along the shores of the Baltic Sea and Lake Ladoga. However, with the invasion of the Knights of the Livonian Order, the Novgorod and neighboring Pskov principality began military operations against the Livonians and the Swedes; the result was the famous Battle of the Neva on Lake Ladoga, in which Prince Alexander Nevsky smashes the Swedish and Livonian squads and protects the lands of the Russian princes. After the outbreak of hostilities with the Livonians and the Swedes, several military fortresses were founded to protect the lands, among which Oreshek (or Shlisselburg), Korela, and Ivangorod, still preserved to this day. The first one, located on an island in Lake Ladoga, is definitely worth seeing with your own eyes - this is a complete story in every stone. And the last one till this day “guards” the borders of Russia with Estonia.

At the end of the 15th century, the lands of the Novgorod principality were seized by Ivan III, the head of the Moscow principality. So began the history of these lands under the control of Moscow, however, short. At the end of the 16th century, Swedish troops invaded here, with whom the Moscow principality led several long-lasting wars and battles. In the middle of the 17th century, this territory finally fell to the Swedish kings, and for the next half century became the domain of the Swedish governors. But at the beginning of the 18th century, the Great Northern War with the Swedes declared by Peter the Great was succesful, and the territory returned to the Russian Empire. New territories of Vyborg district were also added and became the country's border in the north. The Castle of Vyborg, rebuilt during the time of the Swedish governorship, still rises above the city. A little further south, at the confluence of the Neva River into the Baltic Sea, the city of St. Petersburg was founded - the new capital of the empire.

Want to see the best sights of the Leningrad region? Book our author tour!

Since the transfer of the capital to St. Petersburg in the local lands came the heyday. Since the entire princely couple and its retinue moved here, luxurious palaces and estates began to built in the surrounding lands, the similar of which cannot be found anyware else in Russia. Peterhof Palace was built with its famous park and fountain ensembles - at that time the largest building of this type in the world. Peter the Great wanted to make an impression on the Western rulers, actively inviting them to visit his "country residence". In many ways, Peterhof laid the foundations for close cooperation between Russia and the Western monarchies, especially with the Austria.

Further, each Russian monarch took into the tradition of building his own palace for himself, and the richer the ruler was, the more luxurious his residence was to rebuild himself. No wonder that all was eclipsed by Empress Catherine II, whose famous palace in Tsarskoye Selo is a world-class example of architecture. In the neighborhood, the palaces of other relatives of the royal family were rebuilt: the Alexander Palace in Pushkin, the Pavlovsk Palace, the Gatchina Palace, the Oranienbaum Palace ... The Leningrad region was literally flourished.

And then the Russian Empire fell apart. During the October Revolution in the city of St. Petersburg, the Bolsheviks seized power, the remnants of the White Army were defeated or repressed. One of the most severe punishments was imprisonment in the fortress Oreshek, where to this day the skeletons of ancient prisons is presented. St. Petersburg was renamed to Petrograd, and many palace complexes were closed or reequipped for public use. In 1924, the city of Petrograd was renamed to Leningrad, and the region into the Leningrad region, which saves the name since that time.

Want to see the best sights of the Leningrad region? Book our author tour!

During the Russian Great Patriotic War in the Leningrad region were one of the most difficult military campaigns. The besieged Leningrad endured a perennial Nazis siege, but did not surrender to the enemy, and the difficulties and trials of local residents entered into biographical works and heroic novels of those years. The history has made the trial of this place, however, most of the monuments of architecture and the heritage of art were saved thanks to the evacuation to the Urals and to Siberia. Some of them were lost, and some of the palaces and castles were destroyed, but the latter were restored in the course of a couple of decades after the war. When I visited Pavlovsk Palace in Pavlovsk, on the second floor there was an armory gallery, where broken walls and the lack of plaster also testified to gun salvoes and bullet holes left during the war. Nevertheless, difficult times were left behind, and today the Leningrad region is gradually recovering its great wealth.

Today, the majority of Russian and foreign tourists come to the capital of the region, the city of St. Petersburg. But for some reason, most often they remain there, although there is a great area of ​​incredible beauty of nature and architecture around St. Petersburg that can not be seen even after a week of active leisure! Directly on the outskirts of St. Petersburg is the Bogoslovka Manor, where there is an analogue of the wooden church in Kizhi - Church of the Pokrova Presvyatoy Bogorodicy. A little further on the island in Lake Ladoga rise the walls of the Oreshek Fortress, whose history goes back over 600 years. North on the guard of history are the ancient fortresses of Korela and Vyborg. Not far from St. Petersburg, the famous palaces of the imperial couple and nobles are ready to receive tourists and show the magnificent heritage of the greatest masters of art. Gatchina, Pavlovsk, Oranienbaum, the Catherine Palace and Peterhof ... well, the latter are always full of tourists, but what about the rest? They are also part of the story, and often - no less significant and beautiful.

On the border of the Neva Bay stays the skeletons of a system of military forts that defended Leningrad from the German troops. In their surroundings, on the island is the small town of Kronstadt stands the largest naval cathedral in Russia (and Europe) - the Kronstadt Naval Cathedral. This is a real miracle in reality! And on the border with Estonia, the massive Ivangorod Fortress, the guard line of the Russian Empire in the era of Ivan III, rise. Finally, in the Leningrad region there are a large number of lakes, wild forests and natural beauties of Russian North that create a pacific atmosphere at any time of the year.

I am convinced that everyone who comes to St. Petersburg should take the time to explore its surroundings. This will allow you to learn more about the history of Russia and its heroic feats, bring a lot of new impressions and open the northern "capital" of Russia from a new side.

 

Welcome to the Leningrad region - a fount of palace architecture, ancient history and heroic military feats of Russia.

Want to see the best sights of the Leningrad region? Book our author tour!

In Russia there are other places worthy of attention. Find out more about them!

Contact Information

+7 925 186-74-87

  • Subscribe to Facebook
  • Subscribe to VK
  • Follow Instagram
  • Chat in Telegram
  • Chat in WhatsApp

Ленинградская область

роскошное наследие истории

русский

UTC+3

православие

центр региона

язык(и)

федеральный округ

часовой пояс

основная религия

Болотистая территория Ленинградской области с тысячами озер была мало заселена до основания Санкт-Петербурга. С приходом царской власти на её земле стали выстраиваться роскошные дворцы, достойные лучших архитектурных ансамблей Европы. Но наравне с ними продолжают жить древние города и сёла, в которых творилась история региона: Старая Ладога, Копорье, Выборг, Тихвин... Десятки усадеб, монастырей, фортов и природных пейзажей ждут вас!

Топ 10 интересных мест:

 

Карта достопримечательностей Ленинградской области

Яндекс-карта

Google-карта

Подробную карту всех мест региона можно увидеть на сайте национального туристического портала России:

Russia.Travel.png

Путешествие по Ленинградской области

Ленинградская область, названная по бывшему названию центра региона - города Санкт-Петербурга, исторически была населена финно-угорскими племенами, владевшими территориями соседних Финляндии и Эстонии. В 8 веке н.э. было основано поселение Ладога (ныне Старая Ладога) - первое поселение русских в этих землях, которое было важным опорным пунктом. В 10 веке большее значение приобретает город Новгород, который начинает отвоёвывать местные земли у финно-угорских народов. К 12 веку Великий Новгород стал центром сильного Новгородского княжества, которое владело огромными пространствами по берегам Балтийского моря и Ладожского озера. Однако с вторжением рыцарей Ливонского ордена Новгородское и соседнее Псковское княжества начали военные действия против ливонцев и шведов; итогом стала знаменитая Невская битва на Ладожском озере, в которой князь Александр Невский громит шведскую и ливонскую дружины и защищает земли русских князей. После начала военных действий с ливонцами и шведами для защиты земель были основаны несколько военных крепостей, среди которых особенно выделяются сохранившиеся до наших дней Орешек (Шлиссельбург), Корела и Ивангородская. Первую, расположенную на острове в Ладожском озере, обязательно стоит увидеть своими глазами - это полноценная история в каждом камне. А последняя и по сей день "стережет" рубежи России на границе с Эстонией.

В конце 15 века земли Новгородского княжества были захвачены Иваном III, главой Московского княжества. Так началась история этих земель под управлением Москвы, однако, недолгая. В конце 16 века сюда вторглись шведские войска, с которыми Московское княжество вело несколько продолжительных войн и сражений. В середине 17 века эта территория окончательно отошла к шведским королям, и на последующие полвека стала вотчиной шведских наместников. Но уже в начале 18 века объявленная Петром I Северная война со шведами принесла свои плоды, и территория вновь вернулась в состав Российской Империи. Были также присоединены новые территории в районе Выборга, который стал пограничным городом страны на севере. Замок-крепость Выборг, отстроенный ещё во времена шведского наместничества, и по сей день возвышается над городом. А немного южнее, на месте впадения реки Невы в Балтийской море был основан город Санкт-Петербург - новая столица страны.

Хотите увидеть лучшие места Ленинградской области? Закажите авторский тур!

С момента перенесения столицы в Санкт-Петербург в местные земли пришёл расцвет. Поскольку сюда переехала вся княжеская чета и её свита, в окрестных землях от Санкт-Петербурга начали возводиться роскошные дворцы и усадьбы, подобных которым нет ни в одном другом месте России. Был выстроен дворец Петергоф с его знаменитым дворцовым парком и фонтанными ансамблями - в то время самым крупным сооружением подобного типа в мире. Петр I желал произвести впечатление на западных правителей, активно приглашая их навестить его "загородную резиденцию". Во многом именно Петергоф заложил основы тесного сотрудничества России с западными монархиями, особенно - с австрийской.

Далее каждый российский монарх взял в традицию отстраивать себе собственный дворец, и чем богаче был правитель, тем более шикарную резиденцию он должен был себе отстроить. Неудивительно, что всех затмила императрица Екатерина II, чей знаменитый дворец в Царском Селе является всемирным образцом зодчества. По соседству были отстроены дворцы других родственников царской семьи: Александровский дворец в Пушкине, Павловский дворец, Гатчинский дворец, Дворец Ораниенбаум... Ленинградская область (в то время Санкт-Петербургская губерния) буквально расцветала на глазах.

А затем Российская Империя распалась. Во время Октябрьской Революции в городе Санкт-Петербурге власть захватили большевики, остатки Белой армии были разгромлены или репрессированы. Одним из наиболее тяжелых наказаний было тюремное заключение в крепости Орешек, где и по сей день стоят остовы древних тюрем. Санкт-Петербург был переименован в Петроград, а множество дворцовых комплексов были закрыты или переоборудованы под общественные нужды. В 1924 году город Петроград был переименован в Ленинград, а область - в Ленинградскую, с той поры территория и её название закрепились за ней.

Хотите увидеть лучшие места Ленинградской области? Закажите авторский тур!

Во время Великой Отечественной Войны в Ленинградской области велись одни из самых тяжелых и трудных военных кампаний. Осаждённый Ленинград выдержал многолетнюю немецкую осаду, но не сдался врагу, а трудности и испытания местных жителей вошли в биографические произведения и героические повести тех лет. История вершила суд над этим местом, однако большинство памятников архитектуры и достояний искусства удалось спасти благодаря эвакуации на Урал и в Сибирь. Часть из них была утеряна, а часть дворцов и замков - разрушены, но последние были восстановлены в ходе пары десятилетий после войны. Когда я посещал Павловский дворец в Павловске, на втором этаже была оружейная галерея, где разбитые стены и отсутствие штукатурки ещё свидетельствовали об оружейных залпах и пулевых отверстиях, оставленных во время войны. Тем не менее, тяжелые времена остались позади, и сегодня Ленинградская область постепенно восстанавливает свое великое достояние.

Сегодня большинство российских и иностранных туристов приезжают в столицу региона - город Санкт-Петербург. Но почему то чаще всего они там и остаются, хотя вокруг Петербурга расположена невероятная по красоте природы и архитектуры область, которую не увидеть и за неделю активного досуга! Прямо на выезде из Санкт-Петербурга расположена усадьба Богословка, где высится аналог деревянной церкви в Кижах - деревянная Церковь Покрова Пресвятой Богородицы. Немного дальше на острове в Ладожском озере высятся стены крепости Орешек, история которой насчитывает уже более 600 лет. Севернее на страже истории стоят древние крепости Корела и Выборг. Недалеко от Санкт-Петербурга знаменитые дворцы императорской четы и знати готовы принять туристов и показать роскошное наследие величайших мастеров искусства. Гатчина, Павловск, Ораниенбаум, Екатерининский дворец и Петергоф... последние всегда заполнены туристами до отказа, но что насчёт остальных? Они тоже часть истории, и зачастую - не менее значимой и красивой.

На границе Невской губы стоят остовы системы военных фортов, оборонявших Ленинград от немецких войск. В их окружении, на острове находится небольшой город Кронштадт, где высится самый большой морской собор в России (да и Европе) - Морской Никольский собор. Это настоящее чудо наяву! А на границе с Эстонией высятся остовы великой Ивангородской крепости - сторожевого рубежа Российской Империи в эпоху Ивана III. Наконец, в Ленинградской области есть большое количество озёр, диких лесов и природных красот Русского Севера, которые создают особую атмосферу в любое время года.

Я убежден, что всем приезжающим в Санкт-Петербург стоит выделить время на то, чтобы изучить его окрестности. Это позволит узнать больше об истории России и её героических подвигах, принесет массу новых впечатлений и откроет северную "столицу" России с совершенно новой стороны.

 

Добро пожаловать в Ленинградскую область - кладезь дворцовой архитектуры, древней истории и героических военных подвигов России.

Хотите увидеть лучшие места Ленинградской области? Закажите индивидуальный тур!

В России есть и другие места, достойные внимания. Узнайте о них больше!

Контактная информация
  • Подписаться в Facebook
  • Подписаться в ВКонтакте
  • Подписаться в Instagram
  • Чат в Telegram

© Sight Hiker 2020. Полное или частичное копирование изображений и текстов возможно только с указанием активной ссылки на сайт Sight Hiker.