Russian

UTC+3

Orthodoxy

region center

language(s)

federal district

timezone

main religion

Ryazan region is famous for great battles, monuments of Orthodox architecture and ancient crafts. Here in the city of Kasimov is the ancient capital of the Tatar Khanate, and nearby are classic Russian landscapes, which the poet Sergey Yesenin glorified. The vast expanses of the Oka River, magnificent monasteries, folk crafts and protected forest groves - all this can be found in the vicinity of Ryazan.

Top 10 interesting places to visit:

 

Sights map of the Ryazan region

Yandex Map

Google Map

Detailed map of all places in the region can be seen on the website of the national tourism portal of Russia:

Russia.Travel.png

Travel around the Ryazan region

If the holy army shouts: “Leave you Russia, live in paradise!”, I will say: “I do not want paradise, give me my homeland.” S.A. Yesenin

 

Homeland ... how much is connected with this word for each person. Homeland is a native home, a sense of stability and protection in the face of a changing world. Homeland is a family, the warmth of the hearth and the love of loved ones. Homeland is a country that a patriot should serve, remaining faithful until the very end. Finally, the Homeland is a place where a person finds himself, acquires a feeling of a place close to himself in spirit. Each person in life is born twice: the first time he acquires a body, a physical shell and the time that is allotted to him; the second time he acquires his personality, his Homeland and place in the Universe. The first birth takes place without a person’s decision, while the second is his personal choice. Wherever the road of life leads, every person has a fire that burns inside. It warms in cold times of doubt, hardship and deprivation, gives strength to fight and resistance, clears the place of everything old and alluvial and opens up new paths for future achievements.

As well as each person carries the fire of life in himself, a particular places embody the feelings and thoughts of millions of people who have passed through them. They absorb the energy of the actions of entire nations and are filled with significance that is important for every person living here. This is the memory of the generations that left their mark in this land, which has been transmitted through the centuries as a history, surrounded by legends and myths. They fuel the "inner fire" of local residents, filling their life with meaning, traditions and values ​​that are important for shaping their sense of homeland. But, as in the case of people, the territories also have a times of changes. Sometimes events take place that change them irrevocably, and the past is forever erased from history, remaining only fragments in museums and vague false memories ... But life goes on and on, and now the outlines of a new world appear that will form a new look, new values ​​and a new homeland for the people living here. This has repeatedly happened to the Ryazan region, which throughout its history has been home to many nations, has repeatedly found itself in desolation and then met with radical changes in life, everytime became a new homeland.

The history of the Ryazan region is full of events that influenced the course of the Russian state history. In the 11-13 centuries, the Chernigov principality owned this territory, which subsequently broke up into many specific principalities. One of these was the Grand Duchy of Ryazan, which was one of the most prosperous Russian principalities in the 12-16 century. However, its existence was not smooth: in 1237, a large army of Mongols under the command of Khan Batu approached the borders of Ryazan land near the Voronezh River and besieged the capital of the principality. The result was a battle to the death, which six days later ended in defeat. Having burst into the city, the Mongols destroyed everything, turning the city with a population of 10,000 into ashes. Nowadays, in the place of Old Ryazan there is only a wasteland, where nothing reminds of ancient times.

At that time, the Ryazans have created a legend about Evpaty Kolovrat, an epic Russian hero who chopped down hundreds of Mongols with a small detachment. According to legend, Evpaty was away, and upon returning to his homeland he found the city already ruined. Gathering the few survivors (about 1,700 people), he set off in pursuit of the enemy. Having overtaken the Mongols in Suzdal, "... Evpaty beat them so mercilessly that their swords were dulled, and he took Tatar swords and chopped them." The amazed Khan Batu sent the hero Khostovrul, brother of his wife, against Evpaty, "... and with him the strong Tatar regiments." Hostovrul promised Batu to bring Evpaty Kolovrat alive, but died in a duel with him. Despite the huge numerical superiority of the Tatars, in the course of a fierce battle, Evpaty Kolovrat “began to sever the Tatar force, and beat many famous heroes of the Baty...”. There is a legend that the envoy of Batu, sent for negotiations, asked Evpaty: "What do you want?" And he received the answer - "Only die!". Struck by desperate courage and martial art of the Ryazan hero, Baty said “Oh, Evpaty! If you had served with me, I would have kept you at the very heart! ”. So he gave the body of the killed Evpaty Kolovrat to the surviving Ryazan soldiers and, in honor to their courage, ordered them to be released without causing any harm. Although this did not save the Ryazan principality from death, the feat of Evpaty Kolovrat formed the basis of the Russian epic, which is now immortalized on Pochtovaya Square in the new capital of the region - the city of Ryazan.

Want to see the best sights of the Ryazan region? Book our author tour!

Repeated devastating raids of the Tatar-Mongol and tribute payments destroyed almost the entire heritage of the Ryazan principality, as a result it fell under the strong influence of Moscow, which was gaining strength. The liberation from the Tatar-Mongol yoke began with the Battle of the Vozha River, where the troops of Dmitry Ivanovich (later called Donskoy) defeated the rats of the Mongols, and the Battle of Kulikovo that followed a couple of years later completely liberated the Russian principalities from the yoke. With the destruction of the external enemy, internal strife resumed, and after the death of Ryazan Grand Duke Oleg, the political and soon administrative functioning of the Ryazan passed to Moscow. In the middle of the 16th century, Moscow Prince Vasily II settled in here the Tatars from the captured lands of the Volga Bulgaria, who received their autonomous khanate (now the city of Kasimov). Over the next two centuries, the residents of Ryazan took part in the colonization of the territories of the Voronezh, Lipetsk and Tambov regions, creating border outposts there. In fact, thanks to Ryazans, the Wild Fields have ceased to be wild.

In the 18-19 centuries, the Ryazan lands repeatedly changed their borders: Peter the Great included them in the Moscow province, and Catherine II separated them from Moscow; certain areas passed to Lipetsk and back. The prosperity and industrial development of the region was largely ensured by the railway from Moscow, which was built in 1866 by the Russian businessman and philanthropist Pavel Grigoryevich von Derviz. Thanks to him, the Ryazan region received a powerful impetus to development, but the entrepreneur and his family did much more for the region. Pavel Grigoryevich rebuilt the mirror factory in the village of Kiritsy into a fabulous palace, making it his suburban manor. His son Pavel built a stud farm in the village of Starozhilovo, where some of the best Russian and foreign horse breeds were raised, and he also built the magnificent Peter and Paul Church there. After the October Revolution, the von Derviz family had to leave the country, and their heritage was nationalized. Those difficult times connected with a turning point in Russian culture and the struggle between the past and the future were perfectly described by the poet Sergey Yesenin, whose love for his homeland touched the hearts of millions of people. Today, his museum-reserve in Konstantinovo attracts crowds of tourists in a desire to realize the hidden meanings and significance of his work, as well as to enjoy the magnificent landscapes of the Oka River.

With the advent of Soviet power, life in the region again changed radically. Due to food requisitioning, nationalization and dispossession, people were pulled from villages to cities, so the city of Ryazan received a powerful development of cultural and social life. The capital has long been the craft and industrial center of the region, but now schools, colleges and art galleries have begun to open in large numbers here. In 1918, the first infantry courses of the Red Army commanders were opened in Ryazan, which were later renamed the Russian Airborne Forces. During the Great Patriotic War, Ryazan was able to defend its lands from the Nazi invaders, and immediately after it began to actively build up new factories and neighborhoods. From the 1950s to 1980s, Ryazan was one of the richest cities in Central Russia. In the 1990s, all industrial production began to decline, and over a decade the city lost more than 100,000 inhabitants. Today Ryazan is again actively developing and building up with multi-storey complexes, similar to which can only be found in Moscow. Many residents of the region continue to move from villages to Ryazan or to the neighboring Moscow region, further enhancing the urbanization of the region.

Over the past few decades, Ryazan has not acquired a single new attraction, but it perfectly preserves the heritage of the past. If you want to know more about ancient history, go on an educational tour to the Ryazan Kremlin and Old Ryazan place. A trip to the oldest Orthodox monasteries in Solotcha and Poshchupovo will allow you to touch the religious heritage of the region. But if you suddenly want a secluded holiday in the bosom of nature, then you can safely keep your way to the Meshchera National Park or Oka Nature Reserve - there you can feel real harmony with nature.

 

I invite you to get to know better the Ryazan region - a place that has changed so often and rapidly in the past, but that today is reviving and replenishing life again.

Want to see the best sights of the Ryazan region? Book our author tour!

In Russia there are other places worthy of attention. Find out more about them!

Contact Information

+7 925 186-74-87

  • Subscribe to Facebook
  • Subscribe to VK
  • Follow Instagram
  • Chat in Telegram
  • Chat in WhatsApp

Контактная информация

  • Подписаться в Facebook
  • Подписаться в ВКонтакте
  • Подписаться в Instagram
  • Чат в Telegram
  • Отправить письмо

© Sight Hiker 2020. Полное или частичное копирование изображений и текстов возможно только с указанием активной ссылки на сайт Sight Hiker.

Рязанская область

на южных рубежах Руси

русский

UTC+3

православие

центр региона

язык(и)

федеральный округ

часовой пояс

основная религия

Рязанская область знаменита великими сражениями, памятниками православной архитектуры и старинными промыслами. Здесь в городе Касимове находится древняя столица татарского ханства, а неподалеку расположены  классические русские пейзажи, которые прославлял поэт Сергей Есенин. Бескрайние просторы Оки, величественные монастыри, народные ремесла и заповедные лесные рощи - всё это можно найти в окрестностях Рязани.

Топ 10 интересных мест:

 

Карта достопримечательностей Рязанской области

Яндекс-карта

Google-карта

Подробную карту всех мест региона можно увидеть на сайте национального туристического портала России:

Russia.Travel.png

Путешествие по Рязанской области

Если крикнет рать святая: «Кинь ты Русь, живи в раю!», я скажу: «Не надо рая, дайте родину мою». С.А. Есенин

Родина... как много связано с этим словом у каждого человека. Родина - это родной дом, чувство стабильности и защиты перед лицом изменчивого мира. Родина - это семья, тепло домашнего очага и любовь близких людей. Родина - это страна, которой патриот должен служить, оставаясь верным ей до самого конца. Наконец, Родина - это место, где человек находит себя, обретает ощущение близкого себе по духу места. Каждый человек в жизни рождается дважды: первый раз он обретает тело, физическую оболочку и время, которое ему отпущено; второй раз он обретает свою личность, свою Родину и место во Вселенной. Первое рождение происходит без решения человека, в то время как второе является его личным выбором. Куда бы не завела дорога жизни, у каждого человека внутри горит огонь. Он согревает в холодные времена сомнений, тягот и лишений, даёт силы для борьбы и сопротивления, очищает место от всего старого и наносного и открывает новые пути для будущих свершений.

Как каждый человек несёт в себе огонь жизни, так и отдельные места заключают в себе чувства и мысли миллионов людей, прошедших через них. Они вбирают в себя энергию действий целых народов и наполняются значением, важным для каждого живущего здесь человека. Это память поколений, оставивших свой след в этой земле, которая передаётся сквозь века как история, обрастающая легендами и мифами. Они питают огонь местных жителей, наполняя их жизнь смыслом, традициями и значениями, важными для формирования их чувства Родины. Но, как и в случае с людьми, у территорий тоже наступает время перемен. Порой на них происходят события, меняющие их безвозвратно, а прошлое оказывается навсегда стёртым из истории, оставаясь лишь фрагментами в музеях и смутных воспоминаниях... Но жизнь идёт своим чередом, и вот на горизонте появляются очертания нового мира, который сформирует новый облик, новые значения и новую Родину для живущих здесь людей. Так неоднократно случалось с Рязанской областью, которая на протяжении своей истории была домом для множества народов, неоднократно оказывалась в запустении и затем встречала радикальные перемены в жизни, каждый раз становясь новой родиной.

История Рязанской области полна событий, повлиявших на ход истории Русского государства. В 11-13 веках этой территорией владело Черниговское княжество, которое впоследствии распалось на множество удельных княжеств. Одним из таких стало Великое Рязанское Княжество, которое было одним из наиболее процветающих русских княжеств в 12-16 веке. Однако его существование не было гладким: в 1237 году многочисленное войско монголов под командованием хана Батыя подступило к границам Рязанской земли у реки Воронеж и осадило столицу княжества. В результате был бой на смерть, который спустя шесть дней окончился поражением. Ворвавшись в город, монголы уничтожили всё на своём пути, превратив город с 10-тысячным населением в пепелище. Ныне на месте Старой Рязани лишь пустошь, где ничто не напоминает о давних временах.

 

В то время у рязанцев сложилась легенда о Евпатии Коловрате, былинном русском богатыре, который с небольшим отрядом порубил сотни монголов. По легенде, Евпатий был в отъезде, и по возвращении на родину застал город уже разорённым. Собрав немногих уцелевших (около 1700 человек), он пустился в погоню за врагом. Настигнув монголов в Суздальских землях, «...бил их Евпатий так нещадно, что и мечи притуплялись, и брал он мечи татарские и сёк ими». Изумлённый Батый послал против Евпатия богатыря Хостоврула, брата своей жены, «…а с ним сильные полки татарские». Хостоврул обещал Батыю привести Евпатия Коловрата живым, но погиб в поединке с ним. Несмотря на огромный численный перевес татар, в ходе ожесточённой битвы Евпатий Коловрат «стал сечь силу татарскую, и многих тут знаменитых богатырей Батыевых побил…». Есть предание, что посланец Батыя, отправленный на переговоры, спросил у Евпатия: «Чего вы хотите?». И получил ответ — «Только умереть!». Поражённый отчаянной смелостью, мужеством и воинским искусством рязанского богатыря, Батый, сказав «О, Евпатий! Если б ты у меня служил, я держал тебя у самого сердца!», отдал тело убитого Евпатия Коловрата оставшимся в живых рязанским воинам и, в знак уважения к их мужеству, повелел отпустить их, не причиняя им никакого вреда. Хотя это не спасло Рязанское княжество от гибели, подвиг Евпатия Коловрата лёг в основу русского эпоса, который сегодня увековечен на Почтовой площади в новой столице региона - городе Рязани.

Хотите увидеть лучшие места Рязанской области? Закажите авторский тур!

Неоднократные разорительные набеги татаро-монгол и выплаты дани уничтожили почти всё наследие Рязанского княжества, в результате оно попало под сильное влияние набиравшей силу Москвы. Освобождение от татаро-монгольского ига началось с битвы на реке Воже, на которой войска Дмитрия Ивановича (позже названного Донским) одолели рати монголов, а последовавшая через пару лет Куликовская битва окончательно освободила русские княжества от ига. С уничтожением внешнего врага возобновились внутренние распри, и после смерти рязанского великого князя Олега политическое, а вскоре и административное управление территорией Рязани перешло к Москве. В середине 16 века московский князь Василий II поселил на территории области татар из захваченных земель Волжской Булгарии, которые получили своё автономное ханство (ныне город Касимов). В течение двух следующих веков жители Рязани приняли участие в колонизации территорий Воронежской, Липецкой и Тамбовской областей, создавая там пограничные форпосты. Фактически, во многом благодаря рязанцам Дикое Поле перестало быть диким.

В 18-19 веках Рязанские земли неоднократно изменяли свои границы: Петр I включил их в состав Московской губернии, а Екатерина II отделила их от Москвы; отдельные районы переходили к Липецку и обратно. Процветание и промышленное развитие края во многом обеспечила железная дорога из Москвы, которую построил в 1866 году русский предприниматель и меценат Павел Григорьевич фон Дервиз. Благодаря ему Рязанская область получила мощный толчок к развитию, а сам предприниматель и его семья сделали ещё многое для региона. Павел Григорьевич по проекту молодого архитектора Ф.О. Шехтеля перестроил завод по производству зеркал в деревне Кирицы в сказочный дворец, сделав его своей загородной усадьбой. Его сын Павел отстроил в деревне Старожилово завод по конезаводству, где выращивались одни из лучших российских и зарубежных пород лошадей, а также построил великолепную Петропавловскую церковь. После Октябрьской революции семье фон Дервизов пришлось уехать из страны, а их наследие было национализировано. Те трудные времена, связанные с переломом в русской культуре и борьбе прошлого и грядущего, отлично описал поэт Сергей Есенин, любовь которого к своей родине не могла не тронуть сердца миллионов людей. Сегодня его музей-заповедник в Константиново привлекает толпы туристов в желании осознать скрытые смыслы и значение его творчества, а также насладиться великолепными пейзажами реки Оки.

С приходом советской власти жизнь в регионе вновь радикально изменилась. Из-за продразверстки, национализации и раскулачивания люди потянулись из деревень в города, и тогда мощное развитие культурной и общественной жизни получила Рязань. Столица издавна была ремесленным и промышленным центром региона, но теперь в ней начали массово открываться школы, училища и галереи искусства. В 1918 году в Рязани были открыты первые в России пехотные курсы командиров Красной Армии, которые впоследствии были переименованы в ВДВ. Во время Великой Отечественной войны Рязань смогла отстоять свои земли от немецко-фашистских захватчиков, а сразу после начала активно застраиваться новыми заводами и микрорайонами. В 1950-1980-х годах Рязань была одним из самых богатых городов в Центральной России. В 1990-е годы всё промышленное производство пошло на спад, и в течение десятилетия город потерял более 100 000 жителей. Сегодня Рязань вновь активно развивается и застраивается многоэтажными комплексами, подобные которым можно встретить только в Москве. Многие жители региона продолжают переезжать из деревень в Рязань или в соседнюю Московскую область, ещё больше усиливая урбанизацию края.

 

За последние несколько десятилетий Рязань не приобрела ни одной новой достопримечательности, но зато отлично сохраняет наследие прошлого. Если хотите узнать больше о древней истории - отправляйтесь на познавательную экскурсию в Рязанский кремль и в Старую Рязань. Поездка по старейшим православным монастырям в Солотче и Пощупово позволит прикоснуться к религиозному наследию региона. А если вдруг захочется уединенного отдыха на лоне природы, то можно смело держать путь в Мещерский национальный парк или Окский заповедник - там можно ощутить настоящую гармонию с природой.

 

Я приглашаю вас познакомиться поближе с Рязанской областью - местом, которое так часто и стремительно менялось в прошлом, а сегодня вновь оживает и наполняется историческим смыслом.

Хотите увидеть лучшие места Рязанской области? Закажите индивидуальный тур!

В России есть и другие места, достойные внимания. Узнайте о них больше!