Tatarstan Republic: Volga Bolgars and modern Tatars

Татарстан.png

Main facts:

  • Administrative center: Kazan

  • Federal District: Volga region

  • Language(s): Tatar, Russian

  • Population: 3,894,000

  • Timezone: UTC+3

  • Main religion: Islam, Orthodoxy

Top 10 attractions:

Sights map of Tatarstan Republic

Travel around Tatarstan Republic

The Republic of Tatarstan is located on the banks of the Volga and Kama rivers, the capital of the republic is based on their confluence. Being in excellent transport accessibility from Moscow, the republic attracts millions of tourists annually, and everyone leaves it with joy in their hearts. This is no coincidence, since Tatarstan is one of the most prosperous and well-groomed republics in Russia: there are excellent roads, many amenities for pedestrians, friendly people and many magnificent must-see sights for everyone.

The history of the republic begins in the distant past 4-3 millennia BC. It was at that time, according to archaeological finds, that the first people settled on the banks of the Volga and Kama. Living in relative isolation from the other significant cultures of those times, the local people created an independent culture and way of life, which became entrenched during the formation of the Volga Bolgars state in the 11th century. The capital of the newly formed state was the city of Bolgar, and it is here that the historical museum of the Bolgarian culture is located today. Also here is one of the most beautiful mosques on the territory of our country - the White Mosque, which is included in the UNESCO World Heritage List and is an architectural monument of national importance. You should definitely see it!

Булгар.png

Settling along the banks of the Volga and Kama, Volga Bolgaria slowly expanded its borders and increased its strength, but failed to resist the invasion of the Mongolian troops in the middle of the 13th century. They captured the entire territory of the state and annexed it to the Mongol Empire. During the reign of the Mongol khans, the Golden Horde state arose on this territory (after the division of land between the sons of Genghis Khan), Islam was adopted (in 1320), and the Tatars more than once participated in raids on ancient Russia and the neighboring principalities along with the Mongols (for example, to Moscow in 1382). However, later Khan Tokhtamysh, the ruler of the Golden Horde, came out against the Central Asian khan Tamerlane, and as a result suffered a crushing defeat. From that moment the Golden Horde came to an end.

Want to see the best sights of Tatarstan? Book our author tour!

In the result of the collapse of the Golden Horde, Khan Ulug-Mohammed migrated to the north and captured the city of Kazan, where he proclaimed himself an independent ruler. Thus, the Kazan Khanate was formed, from which the modern Republic of Tatarstan originates. The power of the Kazan Khanate was very significant, because they controlled the territory, larger than even the Golden Horde. In the middle of the 16th century, Russian troops repeatedly attempted to take Kazan by storm, but they did not succeed. Then Tsar Ivan IV came up with a plan for the siege of Kazan, which included the construction of a whole fortified city on an island nearby. Details and plans were invented and assembled in the city of Uglich, not far from the Moscow principality. Then they were fused along the Volga right up to the island of Sviyazhsk, where within a few months a fortress was assembled for the Siege of Kazan. As a result, the Russian troops took Kazan, and the fortress of Sviyazhsk became the stronghold of Russia on the Middle Volga. Today, you can learn about the history of this glorious victory by personally visiting the island town of Sviyazhsk and seeing the remains of an ancient fortress.

Свияжск.png
Казань.png

Since then, Kazan has become a Russian city, but a very large Tatar diaspora has been preserved here, which strongly defended its national traditions and religion (Islam). However, until the reforms of Peter the Great in 1708, the Kazan kingdom remained under the constant control of the Russian tsars. During the reforms, the Tatar province was formed, from which several independent territories and regions emerged: Astrakhan, Orenburg, Tambov, Saratov, etc. In fact, by the middle of the 18th century, the territory of the Tatar Republic had decreased to its current size. The first school in Russia (except for Moscow) was opened in Kazan to jointly educate children from rich and poor families under the supervision of Moscow State University. Kazan grew and flourished, turning into one of the richest regions of Russia.

In the Soviet Union, the Tatar ASSR was formed. In the 20th century, on the territory of Tatarstan the high quality oil began to produce, which further enriched the republic and all its inhabitants. Thanks to the influx of money educational, transport and medical reforms aimed at improving the social sphere began to be implemented in the republic. Since the collapse of the USSR and the attainment of relative independence in 1992, the government of the Republic of Tatarstan has continued its course towards improving the well-being of the population, and also actively engaged in tourism. As a result, today Kazan is one of the most popular cities of Russia in tourism, and absolutely deserved. Here is a beautiful transport, well-groomed and clean pedestrian areas, many museums and buildings, striking beauty. And the national Tatar culture, so carefully preserved over the centuries, today seems in the form of unique objects of national identity, crafts and restored architecture, for the sake of which people come here from all over the world.

In my opinion, Kazan is one of the most beautiful cities in Russia, which is definitely worth a visit. Starting from the magnificent Kremlin and the Kul Sharif Mosque, walk along the pedestrian Bauman street or to the Palace embankment. In both cases, you will see a lot of beautiful buildings and landscapes, for example, the Palace of Farmers on the Kazanka embankment or the Epiphany Cathedral on Bauman Street. Be sure to go up to the observation deck of the Peter and Paul Cathedral or take a ride on the ferris-wheel not far from the "Kazan" center of the family. And if you think at what time of year it is better to see the city - come both in summer or in winter, since winter Kazan is decorated with millions of Christmas lights, the whole is lit up with light and covered with snow drifts. Here is the real winter, sunny and frosty.

Nevertheless, the Tatarstan Republic is not only about Kazan; there are still many beautiful places here. Not far from Kazan, visit the unique folk structure dedicated to religious tolerance - the Temple of All Religions. A little further in this direction will be the island town of Sviyazhsk, where, in addition to the incredible landscapes of the Volga, you will learn about the history of the ancient fortress, with the help of which Kazan was taken. For the ancient history of the Volga Tatars go to the small town of Bolgar, where the oldest Cathedral Mosque personifies the history of the first state of the Tatars, and the magnificent White Mosque symbolizes the path of prosperity and development that the modern republic has chosen. During the trip, you will have multiple crossings of the beautiful Volga River, along which the lands of national parks and reserves stretch - Volga-Kama, Lower Kama, mountains near Dolgaya Polyana... And if you want to see the wealth of the small Tatar city - go to Yelabuga, the home of famous Russian painter Ivan Shishkin and the place of life of poetess Marina Tsvetaeva.

Come to the Tatarstan Republic for the national identity, beautiful sights and delicious folk food (chak-chak, echpochmak and many more). This place will not leave anyone indifferent!

For more information about the country and the posted content, please contact me in person through contacts form. Thank you!

Want to go on an unforgettable private tour
in Tatarstan?

Write to us and we will tell you about all the details of the trip:

Республика Татарстан: волжские болгары и современные татары

Татарстан.png

Основные факты:

  • Административный центр: Казань

  • Федеральный округ: Приволжский

  • Язык(и): татарский, русский

  • Население: 3,894,000

  • Часовой пояс: UTC+3

  • Основные религии: ислам, православие

Топ 10 интересных мест:

Карта достопримечательностей Татарстана

Путешествие по Республике Татарстан

Республика Татарстан расположена на берегах рек Волги и Камы, на их слиянии основана столица республики. Находясь в отличной транспортной доступности от Москвы, республика привлекает миллионы туристов ежегодно, и каждый уезжает из неё с радостью в душе. Это неслучайно, поскольку Татарстан - одна из самых благополучных и ухоженных республик в России: здесь отличные дороги, много удобств для пешеходов, доброжелательные люди и множество великолепных достопримечательностей, увидеть которые обязан каждый.

История республики начинается в далёкие времена 4-3 тысячелетия до нашей эры. Именно в то время, согласно находкам археологов, на берегах Волги и Камы селились первые люди. Живя в относительной изоляции от остальных значимых культур тех времен, местные жители создали независимую культуру и образ жизни, который закрепился во время образования ими государства волжских булгар в 11 веке. Столицей новообразованного государства был город Болгар, и именно в нём сегодня располагается исторический музей Болгарской (Булгарской) культуры. Также здесь расположена одна из красивейших мечетей на территории нашей страны - Белая мечеть, которая входит в список Всемирного наследия ЮНЕСКО и является памятником архитектуры национального значения.

Булгар.png

Расселяясь вдоль берегов Волги и Камы, Волжская Болгария медленно расширяла свои границы и увеличивала силы, однако не сумела противостоять нашествию монгольских войск в середине 13 века. Они захватили всю территорию государства и присоединили её к Монгольской империи. Во время правления монгольских ханов на этой территории возникло государство Золотая Орда (после раздела земель между сыновьями Чингисхана), был принят ислам (в 1320 году), а татары не раз участвовали в набегах на древнюю Русь и соседние княжества вместе с монголами (например, поход на Москву в 1382 году). Однако позднее хан Тохтамыш, тогдашний правитель Золотой Орды, выступил против среднеазиатского правителя Тамерлана, и в итоге потерпел сокрушительное поражение.

Хотите увидеть лучшие места Татарстана? Закажите авторский тур!

В результате распада Золотой Орды хан Улуг-Мухаммед откочевал на север и захватил город Казань, где провозгласил себя независимым правителем. Так было образовано Казанское ханство, с которого ведет историю современная Республика Татарстан. Власть Казанского ханства была очень значительной, ведь им контролировались территории, значимо большие по сравнению даже с землями Золотой Орды. В середине 16 века русские войска неоднократно пытались взять штурмом Казань, однако им это так и не удалось. Тогда царь Иван IV придумал план осады Казани, включавший постройку целого города-крепости на острове неподалеку. Детали и план-схемы придумали и собрали в городе Угличе, вотчине Угличских князей неподалеку от Московского княжества. Затем их сплавили по Волге аж до острова Свияжска, где за несколько месяцев была собрана крепость для осады Казани. В итоге русские войска взяли Казань, а крепость Свияжск стала оплотом Руси на Средней Волге. Сегодня узнать об истории этой славной победы можно, лично приехав в остров-град Свияжск и увидев остовы древней крепости.

Свияжск.png
Казань.png

С той поры Казань стала русским городом, однако здесь сохранилась большая татарская диаспора, которая сильно отстаивала свои национальные традиции и религию (ислам). Вплоть до реформ Петра I в 1708 году Казанское царство оставалось под управлением русских царей. Затем была образована Татарская губерния, из которой впоследствии выделились несколько независимых краёв и областей: Астраханский, Оренбургский, Тамбовская, Саратовская и др. К середине 18 века территория Татарской республики уменьшилась до её текущих размеров. В Казани открылась первая в России (кроме Москвы) школа для обучения детей из богатых и бедных семей под управлением Московского университета. Казань росла и процветала, превращаясь в один из богатейших городов России.

В Советском союзе была образована Татарская АССР. В 20 веке на территории Татарстана начали добывать нефть высокого качества, что ещё больше обогатило республику и всех её жителей. Благодаря притоку денег в республике начали осуществляться образовательные, транспортные и медицинские реформы, направленные на улучшение социальной сферы. С момента распада СССР и обретения относительной независимости в 1992 году, правительство Республики Татарстан продолжило курс на улучшение благосостояния населения, а также активно занялось туризмом. В итоге сегодня Казань является одним из самых популярных городов России по туризму, и совершенно заслуженно. Здесь прекрасный транспорт, ухоженные и чистые пешеходные зоны, множество музеев и зданий, поражающих красотой. А национальная татарская культура, так бережно сохраняемая на протяжении столетий, сегодня приносит свои плоды в виде уникальных предметов народной идентичности, ремёсел и отреставрированной архитектуры, ради которых сюда едут со всех уголков мира.

На мой взгляд, Казань - один из красивейших городов в России, который однозначно стоит посетить. Начиная от великолепного Кремля и мечети Кул Шариф, прогуляйтесь по пешеходной улице Баумана или по дворцовой набережной. В обоих случаях увидите массу красивых зданий и пейзажей, например, Дворец земледельцев на набережной или Богоявленский собор на улице Баумана. Обязательно поднимитесь на смотровую площадку Петропавловского собора или прокатитесь на колесе обозрения неподалеку от центра семьи "Казан". А если думаете, в какое время года лучше увидеть город - приезжайте и летом, и зимой, поскольку зимняя Казань украшена миллионами новогодних гирлянд, вся подсвечена светом и покрыта снежными сугробами. Здесь настоящая зима, с морозом, солнцем и морем развлечений.

Тем не менее, Республика Татарстан - это не только Казань, здесь есть ещё много красивых мест. Неподалеку от Казани находится уникальное народное сооружение, посвященное религиозной толерантности - Храм всех религий. Чуть дальше в этом направлении будет остров-град Свияжск, где помимо невероятных пейзажей Волги вам расскажут про историю древней крепости, с помощью которой была взята Казань. А за самой давней историей волжских татар стоит поехать в небольшой город Болгар, где древняя Соборная мечеть олицетворяет историю первого государства татар, а величественная Белая мечеть символизирует путь процветания и развития, который избрала современная республика. За время поездки вы не раз пересечете прекрасную реку Волгу, вдоль которой раскинулись земли национальных парков и заповедников - Волжско-Камский, Нижняя Кама, горы около Долгой Поляны... А если захотите увидеть богатство татарского уездного города - поезжайте в Елабугу, на родину художника Ивана Шишкина и место жизни поэтессы Марины Цветаевой.

Приезжайте в Республику Татарстан за национальным колоритом, прекрасными достопримечательностями и вкусной народной едой (чак-чак, эчпочмак и многое другое). Это место никого не оставит равнодушным!

За более подробной информацией по поводу страны и размещенного контента просьба обращаться лично через контакты. Спасибо!

Хотите увидеть самые красивые и интересные места

Татарстана? 

Напишите нам свои пожелания, и мы организуем для вас наилучший маршрут!