Yaroslavl region: the golden heritage of Russian culture

yaroslavl.png

Main facts:

  • Administrative center: Yaroslavl

  • Federal District: Central

  • Language(s): Russian

  • Population: 1,265,000

  • Timezone: UTC+3

  • Main religion: Orthodoxy

Top 10 attractions:

Sights map of Yaroslavl region

Travel around Yaroslavl region

Yaroslavl region is a very beautiful and colorful region, full of historical sights and natural beauties. Being close to Moscow, it is one of the most interesting regions of Central Russia, annually attracting millions of tourists and lovers of scenic places. It is no coincidence. The official composition of the famous "Golden Ring of Russia" from 7 cities 3 is in the Yaroslavl region: Pereslavl-Zalessky, Rostov Veliky and the capital of the region Yaroslavl. If we consider that on the way from Moscow it is impossible to drive past the Holy Trinity Sergius Lavra in Sergiev Posad, also included in the list, then the path to Yaroslavl from Moscow becomes literally a half of the Golden Ring! The unofficial list of cities of the Golden Ring includes many more small cities that have made a great contribution to the national culture of Russia and are, on the one hand, Orthodox pilgrimage sites, and on the other, cultural heritage sites and masterpieces of Russian architecture. So, in the Yaroslavl region, that list includes Myshkin, Uglich and Tutaev, and therefore I will tell you a little more about each of them.

Starting the way from Moscow, literally in a couple of hours there will be the first city of the Yaroslavl region - Pereslavl-Zalessky. Its history goes back over 900 years, during which the city managed to visit both the administrative, manufacturing and fishing centers. Located on the banks of the huge Plescheevsky lake, here is a beautiful flora and unique fauna listed in the Russian "Red Book of nature". As the spiers of six monasteries rise throughout the city, the most beautiful of them is located at a height above the city and once served for its defense - the Goritsky Uspensky monastery, now a museum. The city is famous for its many skilled craftsmen who transform everyday things into art museums: here you can find an old russian coin museum, an iron museum, a teapot museum and many other places with a national flavor.

Another hour away is a real pearl of the Golden Ring of Russia. And not only the Golden Ring, but the whole of Russia - the Russian city of Rostov, one of the oldest on Rusland. Its foundation dates back to the 9th century AD, as the history of modern Russia began from the Rostov-Suzdal principality. Today, the city is inhabited by only 30,000 inhabitants, but it was once the largest industrial and craft center of Russia, trading with all the neighboring principalities and even abroad! Towering on its borders, the Spaso-Yakovlensky and Avraamiev Epiphany monasteries are surrounded by high walls protecting the city from enemies from land, and in the center of the city rises one of the most beautiful kremlins in Russia. Just look at its powerful impregnable walls, tall towers with bells, a wide courtyard and golden domes! Truly, these places are incredibly beautiful. And if you take a boat trip across Lake Nero, you can see one of the most exciting and inspiring city landscapes in Russia!

Ярославская область: золотое наследие русской культуры

yaroslavl.png

Основные факты:

  • Административный центр: Ярославль

  • Федеральный округ: Центральный

  • Язык(и): русский

  • Население: 1,265,000

  • Часовой пояс: UTC+3

  • Основная религия: православие

Топ 10 интересных мест:

Карта достопримечательностей Ярославской области

Путешествие по Ярославской области

Ярославская область - очень красивый и колоритный край, полный исторических достопримечательностей и природных красот. Находясь недалеко от Москвы, он является одним из самых красивых регионов Центральной России, ежегодно притягивая миллионы туристов и любителей живописных мест. Это неслучайно. В официальный состав знаменитого Золотого Кольца России из 7 городов включены сразу 3, входящие в Ярославскую область: Переславль-Залесский, Ростов Великий и столица региона Ярославль. Если учесть, что на пути из Москвы невозможно проехать мимо Свято-Троицкой Сергиевой лавры в Сергиевом Посаде, также включенном в список, то путь к Ярославлю становится буквально половиной Золотого Кольца! В неофициальный список городов Золотого Кольца включают ещё много небольших городов, внесших большой вклад в национальную культуру России (и Руси) и являющихся, с одной стороны, местами паломничества православных, а с другой - объектами культурного наследия и шедеврами русского зодчества. Так, в Ярославской области к ним относятся Мышкин, Углич и Тутаев, а потому дальше немного информации про каждый из них.

Начиная путь из Москвы, буквально через пару часов будет первый город Ярославской области — Переславль-Залесский. Его история насчитывает более 900 лет, во время которых город успел побывать и административным, и мануфактурным, и рыболовным центром. Расположенный на берегу огромного Плещеевского озера, здесь прекрасная флора и уникальная фауна, занесенная в Красную Книгу. А по всему городу высятся шпили шести монастырей, самый красивый из которых расположен на высоте над городом и некогда служил для его обороны — Горицкий Успенский монастырь, ныне музей. А ещё город славится множеством умелых мастеров, превращающих бытовые вещи в музеи искусства: здесь можно встретить музей монеты, музей утюга, музей чайников и много других мест с национальным колоритом.

Ещё в часе езды расположилась настоящая жемчужина Золотого Кольца России. Да и не только Золотого Кольца, но и всей России — русский город Ростов, один из старейших на русской земле. Его основание относят к 9 веку н.э., и именно с Ростово-Суздальского княжества началась история современной России. Сегодня город населяют всего лишь 30 000 жителей, однако некогда это был крупнейший промысловый и ремесленный центр Руси, торгующий со всеми соседними княжествами и даже заграницей! Возвышающиеся на его границах Спасо-Яковленский и Авраамиев Богоявленский монастыри окружены высокими стенами, защищающие город от врагов с суши, а в центре города возвышается один из красивейших кремлей России. Только взгляните на его мощные неприступные стены, высокие башни с колоколами, широкий внутренний двор и золотые купола! Воистину, эти места невероятно красивы. А если взять прогулку на катере по озеру Неро, то можно увидеть один из самых захватывающих и вдохновляющих пейзажей России!